1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Mediocre Stegadon

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Iskander, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Iskander
    Chameleon Skink

Iskander Active Member

I'm a mediocre painter, and I'm not looking for C&C, as I'm happy to stay that way :D

However! The Engine of the Gods / Stegadon kit is somewhere halfway between a Total Pain the What and a Genuine Joy to Paint. So, I wanted to share the results with you mostly-strangers! :p

Answers to anticipated possible questions: Yes, I left out the Throne. No, I don't like the Throne - I think it makes the already-busy kit way-too-busy. Yes, I put rhinestones on the Not-Stargate instead :) No, I didn't just assemble that Giant Bow / Blowpipes contraption for giggles. I added magnets so I can switch between Engine parts and the Bow at will.

Thank you everyone on the forums who has yammered about painting, assembling, and adding magnets over the last 19 months. Your influence and unwitting assistance is present here!

Enjoy!

WP_20160609_21_20_36_Pro cropped.jpg

(Oh, and I started painting the Skinks in May, so this project is disqualified from the Painting Competition. However! I have another project in progress for that. Hopefully I'll finish it soon!)

Warden, Bracnos, Crowsfoot and 2 others like this.
  2. Bowser
    Slann

Bowser Third Spawning

Looks good! Red and purple skinks on that blue Stegadon is a pretty good look!

Iskander likes this.
  3. n810
    Slann

n810 First Spawning

Not a bad start, but the white bits could use some more love.

Iskander likes this.
  4. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

I agree. Great work, but I'd give the white areas some light washes.

Awesome job!

Iskander likes this.
  5. Jorgik
    Carnasaur

Jorgik Well-Known Member

I really like the colour convention, but I see some points to improve ;)