1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Absolute noob

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by MarcC, Jul 28, 2016.

1. MarcC
    Jungle Swarm

MarcC New Member

Hi all. I'm a two day old noob in the world of AOS and came across the forum when looking for colour scheme ideas for my still in the box Seraphon contingent.

I have been aware of Warhammer and GW for a long time, at one point buying the white dwarf magazines and marvelling at the painting of the models. I didn't really understand the battle reports but still found them interesting, and the catalogue at the back with all the models always had me wishing I had three things

1. Some money
    2. A credit card
    3. Someone else to share my enthusiasm and to battle against

To give these wishes some context this was around 20 years ago, I was a teenager (hence no money and credit card) and living in the far north of Scotland meant there were no Games workshop stores nearby and no clubs that I knew of. Side note : I have subsequently found out that there was in fact a club that met once a week in a local community centre but in the age before the internet these things were not as well advertised. As with all things that lack fuel, my interest waned in favour of activities that were more readily available.

Fast forward to the release of the Lord of the Rings magazines and figure accompaniements and my interest was rekindled. By now a local Toymaster branch was stocking a limited supply of GW models and through the magazines and some purchases I built up a nice wee collection of Fellowship models as well as some Moria Goblins for them to go against. I also had a grass mat, some trees and some walls to create rudimentary battlefields and my then wife even tried to enjoy some skirmishes. I had a fair bit of practice with the painting and tried my best to create some reasonable standard looks but it was amateur level.