1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

7th Ed. Aren't Skink Skirmishers Useless?

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Discussion' started by DavidSS, Jul 10, 2010.

1. DavidSS
    Skink

DavidSS Member

Hey, I am new to fantasy, and while makin my first amry list i took a look at Skink skirmishers, as I thought the 2x shoots was awesome, but then I looked again, and they suddenly seem, totally useless.

I am not sure about this, so please tell me if anything is wrong.

First of all the Skink skirmishers have a range of 12". I wouldn't want to get too close to the enemy, so the shot will probally be a long range shot, resulting in me hitting on 5+. Second: My Skinks are not just gonna stand still and wait for the enemy, so i will have -1 penalty for moving and shoot, bringing my chance on hitting to a 6+. Now 6+ is a very low chance, if I (Let's say I use a sqaud of 10) only have 10 shots. And I can't even use my 2x shots, because that would bring my to hit chance to a 7+ which would mean a 6 followed by 4,5 or 6. If this is true, it makes the skirmishers almost useless.

If we now take a look at normal Skinks equipped with javelins, the new rules in 8th for javelins, give them the range of 12"! and not 8" as it used to be, so it is just as good as the blowpipe. And javelins don't suffer any penalty for moving and shooting, nor do they suffer any penalty for shooting at longe range.

It seems to me that the normal Skinks are far better than the Skink Skirmishers, because they don't have any penalties for moching and shooting or shooting at long range.

I am just a newb at fantasy, I just started to make army list and reading the rules yesterday, so please tell me if I've misread anything or something is wrong.

2. Kurlin
    Ripperdactil

Kurlin New Member