1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Assembling, painting and basing - what's the order?

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Athrenax, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Athrenax
    Skink

Athrenax Member

Hi folks! I'm pretty new to the game, and have received some great help from some awesome people over in my thread on the Introductions board, so thanks again for the great welcome! However, I felt this topic might be relevant to enough other newbies that it probably should get its own thread.

I picked up a Start Collecting! box when I started, and last week I picked up some Skinks. The Saurus from the Start Collecting! box, I assembled in full, then primed and painted them. I have yet to base them, but to do so I'm going to have to tape over the parts of the base where the feet will go before I prime it, and scrape off the paint that got on the bottom of the feet, so that the plastic glue can do its magic. The first twelve Skinks, however, I glued to their base before priming and painting.

I found there were pros and cons to both approaches, and I'm not sure which to continue with. By gluing to the base first, I avoid the struggles of having to cover up parts of the base and scraping paint off the bottom of the models. It also gives me a good place to hold when painting the model. However, it also casts some shadows when painting the model upside-down to reach the downward facing spots, and makes some places more difficult to reach.

So, how do you do it?

Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
    Bowser and Jorgik like this.
  2. Jorgik
    Carnasaur

Jorgik Well-Known Member

Add a fine strap of styrene between your modelsĀ“ feet and the base, then add basing material and then paint. That way you get the feet glued properly and they donĀ“t seem to be sinking in sand

Bowser likes this.
  3. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member