1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Bastiladon, solar engine vs. ark of sotek

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Discussion' started by Kroxy, Jan 16, 2016.

1. Kroxy
    Skink

Kroxy New Member

I'm pretty new to warhammer, and i'm wondering what is better, the solar engine or the ark of sotek?

I just bought a bastiladon and can't for the life of me decide what i want/need in my army, so any help or opinions on this matter would be greatly appreciated :3

2. Jorgik
    Carnasaur

Jorgik Well-Known Member

Depends on what you will use it for. I will write u here a brief (or not so brief) balancing out of each.;)
    Solar engine
    - First: it is magical. U need to spend channeling dice to cast this spell, and as it needs a 3 or more, to play safe (ignoring dispelling) you would need to roll two dice (not very likely to get a double 1).That means that if you play it along many wizards it might loose effectivity as you will spend the power dice on spells, and therefore the bastiladon will just be a chunk of meat in the middle of the battlefield.
    - The actual impacts. The number of impacts and strenght of the shot might vary depending on what you roll. I´d say the average you can get on dice rolls is usually 3s or 4s, so what you should expect is about 5 shots of strength 5. That is very effective on mostly high armored troops (Black Orks for example) or monstrous infantry (Ogres), and, of course, characters outside units.
    - Side effects: +1 initiative on units within 6 inches of the bastiladon. That is always a plus. And also the -1 of BS and WS on impacted units from a roll of 6
    The ark of sotek