1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog Beginners first time painting Lizardmen

Discussion in 'Personal Paint Logs' started by Theo, Sep 2, 2016.

1. Theo
    Skink

Theo Member

Hey guys I wanted to share some pics of my lizardmens and hopefully get some nice tips how to improve as a painter! I am fairly new to painting, I used to play back like 10 years ago but I would hardly call what I was doing painting. Now I've decided to start the hobby again and am getting started on my Seraphon army :D!

This is my first ever Skink, its pretty inspired by the new battletome skinks but I really love the colour scheme! Hope you like it!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Warden, tom ndege, Bowser and 3 others like this.
  2. BeardyGecko
    Ripperdactil

BeardyGecko Well-Known Member

Hey @Theo that looks like a good start! I do like the colour scheme!

The blue areas look like you have made good use of drybrushing to achieve a gradient and the basing is better then mine (I never do it haha).

I would suggest that in other areas you need to thin your paints a little, the gold looks a little swamped and the white is very solid on his crest so maybe use a grey base colour and layer up to white to create some depth. All in all for a first attempt it's very good and the only way to get better is to keep trying.

Last edited: Sep 13, 2016
    Theo likes this.
  3. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

Very good first attempt and I echo what @BeardyGecko has said.

On the white start with Fenrisian grey as a base then mix 50/50 with white and paint again leaving some of the grey showing around the edge then take pure white and paint again leaving some of the mix layer showing.