1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Colours+Techniques to use

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by KroxigorsFTW, Jul 15, 2009.

1. KroxigorsFTW
    Razordon

KroxigorsFTW New Member

Hello, I have got some lizardmen stuff, and want to paint the Saurus. While i am a goodish gamer and builder, i must say, i am the worst painter/scheme creator i know. Can someone give me some tips/ideas on what techniques can be used on Lizardmen that look great, and what colours sit well with them (besides blue,) and in what combo?

Thanks in advance. This is a big favour.

2. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

I suggest you scan through the painting forum and on google and cmon for inspiration for paint schemes, it really is up to you what colours you choose and you should definitely choose colours that you like.

As I have told a few people, painting really is about not being afraid to try new techniques and colours to see what looks good and push your painting skills. It is basically impossible to 'ruin' a model with paint since you can always strip it off again if it doesn't work out, so you should grab a unit of saurus or skinks and just paint them all different colours, paint whatever comes to mind, try different combinations and new techniques. I went through this trial when I started a tyranid army and my painting was still fairly basic, I still have about 20 multicoloured termigants using all kinds of colours and techniques from simple drybrushing or inking, to dipping to highlighting and colours from subtle to bright and garish. Nids and lizardmen are IMO the best two armies to do this with.