1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Crafting my first ever 1k list, need some Skink advice

Discussion in 'Seraphon Tactics' started by skinks_in_spaaace, Aug 4, 2018.

1. skinks_in_spaaace
    Jungle Swarm

skinks_in_spaaace New Member

Hello chaps!

I've decided that I'm actually going to start playing the game (instead of just occasionally painting a model here and there), and I've begun to craft a 1k list. It's mostly thematic, and not really optimised because I'm still learning the rules, but I could use some advice on Skinks.

For context, my current iteration of the list is as follows:
    • Skink Starpriest (General w/ Master of Star Rituals)
    • Saurus Oldblood
    • 30 Skinks
    • 40 Saurus
    • 2 Salamanders or Razordons (haven't decided yet) + Handlers
    • 3 Ripperdactyls
    Which comes to 1000 points exactly

Now, the Saurus are going to be kept together as one big unit (my general plan is to use the Starpriest and Oldblood buffs to make them a wrecking ball) but when it comes to the Skinks I have two questions:
    • Is it better to have these 30 Skinks as one big unit, or as three small units? The buff that comes from them being in one big unit seems nice, but having three small units I can teleport around with Masters of Time and Space would mean more board control, right? Especially since it seems they're not really built for melee combat? Which comes to my second question...
    • I know that I want to give them blowpipes, but are shields or clubs better? The clubs really seem like they would be handy in melee, but on the other hand wouldn't I always want to run away and start shooting again in a fight, instead of fighting back? And the shields look great for making sure that they keep their saves, but it's a +6 save anyway so it's not really that useful, is it?
    I'd love to hear your input!

2. Aginor
    Slann

Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member