1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Doubles tournament

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by IggyStarhost, Jul 7, 2019.

  1. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hi,

    Got a doubles tournament comming up in September. So there is not yet a rulespack.
    But does anyone have experience with a doubles game? Main question for list building is, do you both get a Command point. Or do you share one with your opponent per turn?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Normally they work as four 1k armies all playing on the same table within two separate teams. So each army has a General, Command Traits, Command Points, ect.
     
    Ecozh and IggyStarhost like this.
  3. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Much thanks!
     
  4. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Of course, two seraphon lists 1000+1000 are much stronger than a single one at 2000. Because you can have 2 slanns that summon, literally doubling the number of units your allegiance can conjure to the battlefield.

    In september i will have a similar tournament, and I'm planning to do exactly this. :cool:
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Haha cool! Athough most tournament packs I could find dont allow the same alliegiance twice. But goos luck tho!
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. Ecozh
    Cold One

    Ecozh Active Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yup, but you can't 'share' points so in the first two rounds you really need those points.
    That's 840 points just for summoning invested in 4 models, so your battleline is pretty thin (that's even if you don't use a Balewind Vortex and cogs +120).

    I would prefer 1 summoning focussed Slann list and something that complements that. But it also is verry dependend of the missions that are being played.

    It also depends on your partner. I played with someone who wanted to play Ogres, so with my skinks and summoning we had a nice semi-balanced 2.000 points list.
     
    IggyStarhost and LizardWizard like this.
  7. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hi Guys,

    Won yesterday! But a few questions came up:

    1) can you summon from summoned unit? This was for tzeentch. Can you summon a herald en then summon some blues wholly within 12 of the herlad? Thinks this should work the same for an astrolith.

    2) Can I choose to break my own coherency when I pile in? Knowing I will lose extra models, but worth the tradeoff sometimes.

    3) when fleeying combat. Do I only make a normal move? Or can I also make a run-reatreat?

    4) If two units charge a screen. One unit clears the screen. The second unit doenst have an enemy unit within 3”. Can it still pile in 3” to come in the range to attack another unit behind the screen (which was more than 3” away).

    5) and the final question, can one unit be restored by multiple gravesites with invigorationg aura?

    Much thanks in advance
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  8. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,010
    Likes Received:
    14,408
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Congratulations!

    As for your questions:

    1. Not sure
    2. Not sure either but I think it may work.
    EDIT: that's wrong. You cannot.
    3. You can make a run retreat
    4. A unit that has charged can do that.
    5. Yes that's possible.
     
    IggyStarhost and LizardWizard like this.
  9. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    2,688
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gratz on your victories!

    I will answer the only question @Aginor didn't.

    Yes you can.
     
    IggyStarhost and Aginor like this.
  10. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks for the awnsers guys!

    Unfortunatly you cant run out of combat and you cant break you own coherency.

    A78242CA-2E99-4E7E-9902-818561EBDA89.jpeg 58CF5D65-0E36-4734-B668-703FB79CB1CA.jpeg
     
  11. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,010
    Likes Received:
    14,408
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Where in the rules is any hint that you cannot do that???
     
    LizardWizard and IggyStarhost like this.
  12. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    At the moment you can.
    but asking a direct question at the rule team could lead to a FAQ that negates it.
     
    LizardWizard and IggyStarhost like this.
  13. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My opponent asked it at the FB page. As in the image, their awnser was no. Do you think this isnt an official awnser? And could the rules team say something else?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  14. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No, the rules team is not going to say a different thing, but when they say "if you like to get an official ruling" , well that means that ATM there is nothing that forbids you to run away.
    It's just a house rule used by staff members.

    It's not me that i like to bend the rules in my favor, it's them that acknowledge there is not an official rule on it.
    In my group we always run away from combat.

    ATM this is just a suggestion from the warhammer staff. Not a ruling .
     
    LizardWizard and IggyStarhost like this.
  15. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks, makes it clear! Have send them an email anyways
     
    LizardWizard and Killer Angel like this.
  16. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That would be nice.
    Because frankly i hate when someone runs away. :p
     
    LizardWizard and IggyStarhost like this.
  17. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Except when we do it with skinks! Although just reading it again, wary fighters is also just movr 8 and no additional d6.

    507A57A4-A897-4685-BF00-B757EB8D8F9E.jpeg
     
    LizardWizard and Killer Angel like this.
  18. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Exactly! With skinks i cannot because their ability forbids it, and with other units i LoSaT them. :p
     
    LizardWizard likes this.

Share This Page