1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Greenstuff help...

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Joshua Horchler, Dec 20, 2018.

1. Joshua Horchler
    Troglodon

Joshua Horchler Well-Known Member

Hello Lustria,

I am a terrible modeler. I'm trying to stretch my skills and convert some old coldone models into Razordons. Greenstuff is the bane of my existence right now and I'm struggling to make spikes.

Does anyone have any suggestion on how to make spikes and the best way to attach them? My first attempt was to drill little holes and put in some paperclips as "anchors" but that didn't go well. I only really have an exacto knife, so maybe i need better tools?

-Joshua

Crowsfoot likes this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

More tools will certainly help, you need a pin vice drill this is essential if you want to covert models.

Your idea is right drill holes and put in wire pins, 2mm is big enough and will hold well but the hole has to be a tight fit.

just super glue the wire and insert it into the hole, once dry apply a small amount of greenstuff in the shape you want let it fully dry then sculpt detail on with more greenstuff.

NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  3. Joshua Horchler
    Troglodon

Joshua Horchler Well-Known Member

Thanks Crowsfoot. Do you have any beginners tips for applying the greenstuff? I have an impossible time getting off my fingers, and getting a smooth finish. I know water helps, but I am really failing at it so far haha. It's driving me nuts.

Crowsfoot likes this.
  4. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

keep a small dish next to were you work to keep your fingers wet, talcum powder works as well.

I'm a beginner also :)

Joshua Horchler likes this.
  5. Deed525
    Stegadon

Deed525 Well-Known Member

;D

Green stuff on the fingers and thus fingerprints on the green stuff is annoying as hell.