1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I hate imaginary numbers.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Deathfrisbee2000, Mar 31, 2010.

1. Deathfrisbee2000
    Kroxigor

Deathfrisbee2000 New Member

I'm sitting in math, and my professor is talking about i. My head is .2 seconds away from exploding...

--DF2K

2. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

Yeah... I've been through that stuff. The basic stuff gets easy, but beyond that.. Well, it is one of the main reasons I am a chemist now not a physicist. :D

Wait until you get to imaginary matrices, manipulating Schrodinger's equation, and (if you take that path) quantum physics.
    :mad:
    /insert your head on the left.

3. Little Wolf
    Saurus

Little Wolf New Member

But they're so useful :)

4. Deathfrisbee2000
    Kroxigor

As a middle-school teacher of Social Studies that I plan to be, I doubt I'll need that annoying little i. I understand how it works and can deal with it fine, my head just feels it'll explode if I think about it too often.

My teacher told us it was actually used though, for things like rocket-fuel. So if anyone tries to tell me this stuff "isn't rocket-science," I get to beat them up for lying.

--DF2K

5. Sammy the Squib
    Salamander

Sammy the Squib Member

Imaginary numbers (or complex numbers) have a rather unfortunate name. They're no more imaginary than the numbers you've been dealing with before, in that, they're simply a mental abstraction created to solve certain problems (there is no physical entity that "is" the number one, for example - unless you live on Sesame street). For example, negative numbers arose from a need to solve the equation

x + 1 = 0

Complex numbers arise from the desire to give a meaningful solution to

x^2 + 1 = 0