1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

8th Ed. Ignoring Miscasts

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Acorn Lord, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. Acorn Lord
    Saurus

    Acorn Lord Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How exactly does this work? Do you cast the spell and then ignore miscast roll or do you just discount the spell and miscast and move on as if nothing happened.
     
  2. Qupakoco
    Skink Chief

    Qupakoco Keeper of the Dice Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Which rule are you referring to?

    The order for resolving spells is:
    1. Cast
    2. Dispel (if not Irresistable Force)
    3. Resolve Spell
    4. Roll on Miscast Table, if necessary.
    If you "ignore a miscast" I would interpret that as ignoring the 4th step.
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  3. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    11,202
    Likes Received:
    21,746
    Trophy Points:
    113
    1. Cast
    2. Dispel (if not Irresistable Force)
    3. Resolve Spell
    4. Resolve Lore Attribute
    5. Roll on Miscast Table, if necessary
     
  4. Qupakoco
    Skink Chief

    Qupakoco Keeper of the Dice Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    "Ooooh, look at me! I'm @NIGHTBRINGER and I corrected a moderator!!"

    ...thanks... ;)
     
    Lizardmen!! and NIGHTBRINGER like this.
  5. pendrake
    Skink Chief

    pendrake Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I thought this would be about fixing flawed figures where the mold slipped or some other flaw from the casting process existed.

    Move along...nothing to see...
     
    n810 likes this.
  6. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    11,202
    Likes Received:
    21,746
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well it's posted under the "Rules Help" sub-forum with an "8th Ed." tag, so that was always going to be an unlikely scenario ;)
     
    Qupakoco likes this.
  7. n810
    Slann

    n810 First Spawning

    Messages:
    7,772
    Likes Received:
    4,813
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Didn't Lord Kroak have some special ignoring miscast rule... :oldman:
     
    Qupakoco likes this.
  8. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    11,202
    Likes Received:
    21,746
    Trophy Points:
    113
    He most definitely does.

    If he rolls irresistible force roll a d6:
    • on a roll of 1 he rolls on the miscast table as normal
    • on a roll of 2-6, no roll on the miscast table is made, instead he suffers a strength 6 hit and d6 dice are lost from the power pool
    In either case if the spell was cast through an arcane vassal the vassal also suffers a strength 6 hit.


    The other way we can ignore miscasts is with the Lore of Life spell Throne of Vines.
     
    n810 likes this.
  9. Acorn Lord
    Saurus

    Acorn Lord Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I remember back in the good old 6th edition when slann could ignore miscasts. They were so op back then.
     
    n810 likes this.
  10. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    11,202
    Likes Received:
    21,746
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I remember! They were powerful, but costly. I think the Slann were at their highest overpowered level during 8th edition when we still had our 7th edition army book.
     
    Acorn Lord, n810 and Qupakoco like this.
  11. Acorn Lord
    Saurus

    Acorn Lord Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Oh yeah. My opponents hated not getting their 6s and me getting a free power dice for every spell. Plus being a loremaster was so nice.
     
    n810 and NIGHTBRINGER like this.
  12. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    11,202
    Likes Received:
    21,746
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There were some exquisite magical combos. 8th edition was just not designed to have access to that many free power dice. The Slann alone propelled us into the top tier of armies.

    Cupped hands was fun too (for us anyways).
     
    Acorn Lord likes this.

Share This Page