1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Kroak : Dead for innumerable Ages

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Arawn, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. Arawn
    Skink

    Arawn Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi guys!

    Quick question about Kroak : During the battleshock phase, Kroak have to compare his bravery with the number of wound he suffered + D6 to survive.
    Is Kroak's bravery affected by an inspiring scenery (if he is in range) or any ability of ennemy unit for this test?
    Or we use his regular bravery without any possible modification ?

    Have a good day!
     
  2. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    We use his normal bravery. Since that is not a bravery test, bravery modifiers do not apply.
     
    Seraphage and Arawn like this.
  3. Arawn
    Skink

    Arawn Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Too bad, the inspring terrain could have been very useful for once :)
     
  4. Seraphage
    Bastiladon

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Still enjoyed the idea ! :D
     
  5. darren watson
    Chameleon Skink

    darren watson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I use it with modifiers competitively. It isn't a bravery test so you couldn't reroll it pre generals handbook 2 with the Order ability, but it does use his 'bravery' and not 'unmodified bravery'. Teleporting to inspired scenery is a valid tactic imho
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  6. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Uh, but don't the bravery abilities all say "add X to the result of any bravery rolls" or similar things? There is no roll so it doesn't count?
    I have to take a look at some of those wordings...
     
  7. darren watson
    Chameleon Skink

    darren watson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Perhaps, I am not a rules lawyer and could be wrong here. As far as I'm aware his bravery is 11 if he is within 3" of inspiring. roll d6 and add the wounds he's taken. If it exceeds his bravery he is dead.
     
    Arawn likes this.
  8. Arawn
    Skink

    Arawn Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can we now?


    The insipring terrain rule says "Add 1 to the Bravery of all units within 3" of this terrain feature." That's why I asked at the beginning.

    So an inspiring terrain can give +1. If Kroak is with an ennemy in range of a Sinister terrain he suffers a -1. But if we face another Seraphon player, the Stardrake Icon of the Saurus won't work as it affect the bravery roll and not the bravery itself.
     
    darren watson likes this.
  9. darren watson
    Chameleon Skink

    darren watson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    63
    That's how I understand it
     
  10. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    OK I'd say if the rules actually say some value is added to the bravery itself: Of course that would apply for Kroak.
    But so would abilities that say "Units have to substract X from their bravery".

    So actually an enemy Troglodon would reduce Kroak's "wounds" while a Dread Saurian or Saurus Knights' banners wouldn't.

    EDIT: And we can be glad that Tomb Kings are gone. A Screaming Skull Catapult would reduce the "wounds" of Kroak by two without even hitting him, just by attacking him.
     
    darren watson likes this.
  11. darren watson
    Chameleon Skink

    darren watson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    63
    And we can't now as we have the Seraphon allegiance abillity not the Oder one. The point i was making was you couldn't use the old Order ability to reroll Kroak's roll to see if he was dead because it isn't a bravery roll
     
  12. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Exactly.
    The wording is the key. If something affects a bravery roll it doesn't count.
    If somethign affects bravery it counts.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  13. Arawn
    Skink

    Arawn Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Cool :) Thanks for the answers guys! Much clearer now
     
  14. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's not exactly true
    TK are still playable also in matched plays (in theory...), but the -2 to bravery just for shooting at the target, is no more.
    The revised (and nerfed) warscroll of the SSC, requires to effectively wound the target, in order to give the -2 to bravery.

    This means that, knowing how well a SSC performs, it will happen once in a game. Maybe.
     
    Arawn likes this.

Share This Page