1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Kroak or Starmaster

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by Saminator, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello everyone,

    I just read our new battle traits, and wow these are good, especially the lord of space and time one. I need a slan wizard to make this happen. Which one do you think is beter, i like the idea of the kroak inmortally, and his insights. I don't own that much units yet, so i don't now if i can use summoning yet. I would like tot hear some advice form all of you experienced players.
     
    Ritual likes this.
  2. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    3,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Kroak is superb, but the Slann is so much full of options that I wouldn't leave home without it.
    Not only the constellation, but the command abilities are SO strong.
    Kroak shoots mortal wounds (which is not a small thing) but a Slann can offer a whole range of buffs and support to the army.

    Basically: Kroak is good once in a while, when you want to have fun; a Slann is always good.
     
    Paul Beenis and Ritual like this.
  3. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What exactly is the constellation?
     
    Ritual likes this.
  4. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    3,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's one of the Abilities of the Slann (alongside with arcane vassal)
    You'll find it directly in its warscroll:


    Celestial Configuration: If your army includes any Slann Starmasters, roll a dice after set-up is complete and consult the table below to see which constellation is in the ascendant, and how it affects your army. This effect lasts as long as you have a Slann Starmaster on the battlefield, or until a new constellation comes into effect.
    Roll Ascendant Constellation 1-2 The Hunter’s Steed: The image of a galloping war-beast blazes bright in the sky. Add 1 to run and charge rolls for Seraphon units in your army while this constellation is ascendant.
    3-4 The Sage’s Staff: This constellation is held as a mythical portent of wisdom and magic – while it is ascendant, add 1 to casting rolls when Seraphon Wizards in your army attempt to cast spells.
    5-6 The Great Drake: The vast form of Dracothion himself writhes in the firmament. You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for Seraphon units in your army while this constellation is ascendant


    At the start of your hero phase, one Slann Starmaster in your army can attempt to turn the constellations to its advantage instead of casting one of its spells. If it does so, roll a dice. If the result is a 1, the Slann is distracted by its exertions and cannot cast any spells this phase. If the result is 4 or higher, you can pick a new ascendant constellation from the table. Otherwise, there is no effect.
     
    Paul Beenis, Ritual and Saminator like this.
  5. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks a lot, for these replies!
     
    Ritual likes this.
  6. Stormscales
    Saurus

    Stormscales Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    18
    IMO it makes no sense that Lord Kroak doesn't share the constellation ability. He's supposed to be the most powerful Slann in existence. The only reason I see for his lack of the ability is limited space on the warscroll, but even so, they could have written "See Slann warscroll for details".

    His Dead For Innumerable Ages rule is nice and makes him more resilient than a normal Slann, but he's still unlikely to survive a determined attack. Personally I would keep him in the middle of an Eternal Starhost.
     
    Saminator likes this.
  7. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    4,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It is just a gameplay thing.
    If he had all the abilities of a Slann as well he would be 600 points or so.
     
    Saminator likes this.
  8. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you use Kroak for the space and time battletrait?
     
  9. Stormscales
    Saurus

    Stormscales Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I believe so. Away from books at the moment, but IIRC the teleport ability applies to the SLANN keyword, which Kroak has.
     
    Saminator likes this.
  10. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    3,676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It doesn't matter.
    The Slann is mentioned in the fluff of the LoSaT battle trait, but the rule doesn't require the presence of a Slann to use the teleport.
    Compare it to the rule of unbind spells in the whole battlefield, where you effectively need a Slann.

    So you can have a Slann, Kroak or not even a skink priest... it doesn't matter, you can always use LoSaT (once per turn)
     
    Saminator likes this.
  11. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    4,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes you can use the allegiance ability but not the command traits or artefacts.
     
    Killer Angel likes this.
  12. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Why cant I use commandant traits andere artifacts. These are for every hero right?
     
  13. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    4,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, except named heroes.
    Alarielle, Nagash, Gordrakk, Kairos, Kroak, and some others.
    Those are so powerful that giving them artifacts would make them very overpowered I guess. It is in the rules.
     
    Seraphage, Crowsfoot and Saminator like this.
  14. tom ndege
    Skar-Veteran

    tom ndege Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,003
    Likes Received:
    3,980
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just for claerificaton... kroak is a Slann wizard and can cast all the summoning spells as well as a star master, right?
     
    Saminator likes this.
  15. Saminator
    Saurus

    Saminator Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Oh shit i never thought of that, they both have the slann wizard keyword. That means they both van summon.
     
  16. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    4,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes. The only restriction is that Kroak cannot use artefacts or command traits, and that he is unique of course.
     
    Saminator and tom ndege like this.

Share This Page