1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Marching and Charging

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Karnus, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. Karnus
    Chameleon Skink

    Karnus Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Hello!

    So... my gaming group has been playing:

    “If you march with a unit, that unit cannot charge in their next turn.”

    I’ve taken it as gospel as I learnt the basics from a friend but after watching some battle reports where people march and charge all the time it forced me to do some reading.

    Long story short I can’t find anything in the BRB that states you can’t charge in the turn after you have marched. It says you can’t shoot in the shooting phase of that turn, but that is about it.

    Is this a 7th edition hangover? Or am I missing something?
     
  2. pendrake
    Skar-Veteran

    pendrake Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I do not think this was ever a thing...
     
    NIGHTBRINGER likes this.
  3. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    23,631
    Likes Received:
    49,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Agreed. I've never heard of it either.
     
  4. pendrake
    Skar-Veteran

    pendrake Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There was a no charging restriction for units that returned to the table (after chasing a foe off the table).

    I think there was a similar rule for units that turned up as reinforcements or ambushers...
     
  5. Karnus
    Chameleon Skink

    Karnus Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Thank you for the clarification, I’m not sure where this came from either. 12 months we’ve been playing like this!

    Our skaven player just lost an extra round of shooting.
     
    pendrake likes this.
  6. NIGHTBRINGER
    Slann

    NIGHTBRINGER Second Spawning

    Messages:
    23,631
    Likes Received:
    49,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well you wouldn't be able to charge on the turn in which they returned to the battlefield.

    upload_2018-11-21_2-54-33.png

    upload_2018-11-21_2-55-14.png


    Marching of course is different, you can march a unit this turn and still charge them in your next movement phase.
     
    pendrake likes this.
  7. pendrake
    Skar-Veteran

    pendrake Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Less shooting for Skaven. This pleases the Old Ones. :pompus:
     
  8. Karnus
    Chameleon Skink

    Karnus Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Since we started he has amassed more jezzails, weapon teams and an additional warplightning cannon. He also proxies rattling guns. He knows what he’s doing!
     
  9. Sneek Verminspy
    Jungle Swarm

    Sneek Verminspy New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Sounds like he really knows what he's doing. What a great general-leader.
     
  10. Karnus
    Chameleon Skink

    Karnus Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Does he now? He wouldn’t be cheating now would he?
     
  11. Sneek Verminspy
    Jungle Swarm

    Sneek Verminspy New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Skaven players are rarely treacherous. Not like us lizard-things.
     
  12. Accurate_Noib
    Saurus

    Accurate_Noib Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    18
    excuse me were not lizard things we are called defenders of the world!!!
     
  13. Qupakoco
    Skink Chief

    Qupakoco Keeper of the Dice Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Agreed, these are separate turns. As long as it's not the same turn you are free from the actions of the previous turn.

    However if you charge you cannot march in the same turn. And if you want to march, you cannot declare a charge in the same turn.
     
  14. Karnus
    Chameleon Skink

    Karnus Active Member

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yeah, you march in the remaining moves phase AFTER charges have been declared so that is impossible. It's just one of those weird rules you get told and you don't bother looking to see if it's right because you don't know any better.

    All corrected now though!
     
    Qupakoco likes this.

Share This Page