1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need guidance/suggestions for a possible color scheme!

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by anjnbn, Jun 19, 2009.

1. anjnbn
    Jungle Swarm

anjnbn New Member

Alright, so I just bought the codex and my first box of Saurus Warriors. I've got them all built and glued into their bases (sans shields so I can paint them without frustration :p), but I can't decide what color scheme I want to use. I've kinda sorta landed on red, but my mini-painting experience is low (re: one very sad necron), so I'm not sure what paints to use for base-coating, high-lighting, etc. etc.

So, what would you folks recommend for a red based color scheme? The picture in my mind is a red saurus with a peachy underbelly and red-brown scales on its back. What do you guys think/suggest?

2. angelwuff
    Saurus

angelwuff New Member

I'm new to GW paints, so I don't know the names...

white undercoat might look good for more 'bright' colors, especially if a light pink/peachy underbelly. but may mean more shading work later. Usually works best to prime black or white, then base coat the main color you want. Highlight a lighter shade, either light red, or maybe yellow. if I recall, avoid using white to highlight, unless you want some pink tinged saurus.

uh... you can cheat, use simplegreen to strip all the paint off if it fails to try again ^^

3. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

Hmm I was trying to find a previous post I made around here where someone else wanted read, and I had a pretty detailed reply but I cannot seem to find it. Have a look around, I am pretty sure it was within the last 2 months or so.