1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Ripperdactyls' GH2 point ost

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by Seraphage, Sep 7, 2017.

  1. Seraphage
    Terradon

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    863
    Trophy Points:
    93
    So guys I was wondering,

    when one of us linked the new point costs for our army, he wrote a Terradon discount from 140 to 120.

    I 'm guessing that Ripperdactyls stayed at 140p as they used to right ?
     
  2. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes mate, fair enough though I'd say they were better than Terra's if they were the same cost.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  3. Seraphage
    Terradon

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    863
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Yeah, totally agree with you. I could not find a solid reason to use Terra's so far. Well those 40 points might actually come in handy in some lists !
     
  4. Xasto
    Skink

    Xasto Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    18
    40 pts now means 1 more razordon/salamander, which really makes you think more about the choice you're making!
     
  5. Seraphage
    Terradon

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    863
    Trophy Points:
    93
    20 points was what I needed to feet an extra whole battalion at one of my lists even !
     
    Xasto likes this.
  6. Aginor
    Skink Chief

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As a fan of the Terradons' look and abilities I am happy they got cheaper. Everyone played Rippers because when priced the same those are just better. I'd say at 120 Terradons are a good deal now.
     
    Paul Beenis likes this.
  7. Mune
    Skink

    Mune Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Not sure if we will see much rippers at all after the shadowhost nerf. :(
     
  8. Mortheim
    Skink

    Mortheim Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What nerf?
     
  9. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    The points increased from 120 to 170. Don't know about any other nerf though.. With the skinks and priest coming down by 20 points each it's actually now cheaper to run a Shadowstrike formation. I still run 6 Ripperdactyls and love em
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  10. Mune
    Skink

    Mune Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    You cant use the frog if you put the rippers aside the board at the start of the game.


    You cant use abilities/command abilities if the unit is not deployed on the battlefield. (new faq)
    Rippers are set up in the movement phase.

    Frog ability Triggers in the hero phase.
    No rippers on the board = no frog.
     
  11. Iblitz
    Cold One

    Iblitz Active Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I'm not sure this is intended.
    As long as it is a specific rule (the frog rule) it overcome the regular ones (it's like that for any games); unless the nerf apply specifically to the rippers rules.

    Also, it's the only unit with that kind of abilities.

    But, let's say ok.

    when should we deploy the frog then ? on the next turn hero phase ?
     
  12. Mune
    Skink

    Mune Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Its an ability. Every ability is some kind of "specific rule" for the model.
    Core rules say you just get to use them if they are on the board, peroid.


    Tbh I would say we cant plant him at all if we want them to be set up 3" away.
    Frog is placed in the first hero phase, not in any of our hero phases.


    So right now it Looks to me like we could:

    1: set them up 3" without a frog

    2: use the Bonus move of 2d6 + 14 normal move + a good Charge roll + frog.
     
  13. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Toad is a passive ability and not activated in the hero phase. It's academic when the rippers turn up
     
  14. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Frog being set up in the first hero phase is the only reference to the hero phase on the rippers warscroll.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  15. Mune
    Skink

    Mune Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Problem is the faq is talking about abilitys and not active/passive abilitys.
    I really hope GW will use some infernal ruling on time, like PP does.
    Makes it so much easier.
     
  16. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Problem is people read an FAQ/rule/warscroll and see what they want to. Ha! I am certainly guilty of that. Reading the faq/formation and rippers warscroll I don't see the issue. I'd agree if the rippers warscroll mentioned you have to activate the toad but it just mentions you get bonus attacks against enemy units with 2" of it
     
  17. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Also the faq talks about them using their abilities on other units. Not can they themselves be affected by other abilities. Worse case scenario I can see is 2 units of Rippers from two different shadowstrikes not being able to use each others toads but still being affected by their own ☺
     
  18. darren watson
    Cold One

    darren watson Active Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Opps posted above comment twice and don't see how to delete one... doh
     
  19. Mune
    Skink

    Mune Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I dont want to see it, but ist writen this way.

    RAW is "Only models deployed on the battlefield can use abilities or command abilities".
    The Frog is still under the section of the abilities, so RAW they rippers cant place it.
    There ability is to place the frog in the hero phase and like I said, they are not on the table at this time.
    Even if its a super duper special thing.
     
  20. Iblitz
    Cold One

    Iblitz Active Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    43
    i think the wording "use abilities" means : can't activate things if they are or on the board.
    As the toad "is set up "on first turn, and not "activated" as other abilities.

    Yes, it's an ability from the rippers. But it's not something you choose to activate. it's not "you may", it's "place" you have no other choice.
    That's how i see things.
     
    Ecozh likes this.

Share This Page