1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Saurus warriors, Spears or clubs?

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by Sirbrokensword, Jul 17, 2018.

1. Sirbrokensword
    Jungle Swarm

Sirbrokensword New Member

So, I'm just getting into AoS and I'm deciding what I want out of my saurus. I've been running full units of 40 of them and while clubs are good, I wonder if in big units the spears are always better? It seems liek the extra rank attacking over the 32mm bases is really powerful. What do you guys think?

In general I'm using saurus as a tarpit with the -1 to hit spell and teleporting them onto objectives.

2. Aginor
    Slann

Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

If you are really good with placement then clubs can work very well, especially if you play strategies that try to maximize jaws damage, because then you have to get them within 1" anyway.

I tend to prefer spears though, it is just a bit easier to play.

I am not a Saurus expert though, I don't play Saurus centered lists.

3. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

ILKAIN Well-Known Member

Clubs are hands down better. if you honeycomb the bases when you pile, now that in 2.0 Bases are the actual rule AND you can now slide models around an enemy model they are in base to base contact with (where as before they couldn't), you can get two ranks of the 1" clubs in, where as even if you honeycomb you cannot get the 3rd rank of spears in. 4/3 in two ranks beats 4/4. and if you are 20 or more deep in the unit those clubs just became 3/3. I am in the process of building up several larger units of Saurus, with clubs, specifically because of these changes.

Seraphage and Crowsfoot like this.
  4. Sirbrokensword
    Jungle Swarm