1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Save rerolls

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Dakash, Mar 27, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mormblwka
    Saurus

    Mormblwka Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I understood your point and, friendly speaking, haven't thought of it. Sad smile on my face. Thanks god we almost all the time either don't have the save or have the bonus at least equal to the rend)
     
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I still think it is a bad mechanic and the rerolling should happen after modifiers, which is easier to get into new players' heads and easier to do when drunk.
    (Yes, I drink while playing. :D)
    And that's even how most people I know do it anyway. :)
     
    Ecozh and Koriialstraz like this.
  3. Koriialstraz
    Cold One

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    So, you know a lot of alcoholic ? ;) (I drink while playing too :D)
     
  4. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Of course, I am German! :D :D :D
     
    Koriialstraz likes this.
  5. Koriialstraz
    Cold One

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    So, yeah, it's pretty normal for you neighbour :D
     
    Aginor likes this.
  6. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I meant "beneficial" in terms of gameplay, not necesarly in given the player an advantage. For starters it's confusing. But also it'd feel very inconsistent as the initial roll doesn't follow the same rules for it's value and succes as the final re-roll. The only gameplay use I can think of is re-rolls of specific values (e.g. SCE shields re-rolling 1's). E.g. a liberators unit with a +1 to save-rolls from say cover would never have his re-roll actually trigger if that bonus is counted.
     
  7. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    5,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Right, in that sense it's a different thing.
    Yeah, prom a gaming pov, the reroll before modifiers is more difficult to handle and a bad idea.
     
    Ecozh likes this.
  8. IggyStarhost
    Chameleon Skink

    IggyStarhost Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    43
    So if I understand it correctly, does rerolls/effects happen before modifiers? So raw dice result? Does this also count for other things besides saverolls?

    For example 6 to hit gets buffed with +1? Gues sometimes it even says 6+ to hit, so that actually awnsers the question. It weird to have differrent mechanics for hit/wounds rolls and save rolls. What would be the downside of making it the same rules? That modifiers work before rerolls/effects?
     
  9. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    it'd count for all rolls. So for re-rolls you should (theoreticly) look at the unmodified result. But it's a rather inconvenient way of doing things... including modifiers is more consistent and easier to do..

    The only purpose of it that I can think of is specific value re-rolls (e.g. liberators shields allowing re-rolls of 1's). Thanks to modifiers those could be impossible to actually trigger.
     
  10. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    5,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They could be triggered after modifier. A +1 to saves with a -2 rend would mean that you reroll the 2s.

    If a player rerolls natural 1s before modifiers, but rerolls failed save after modifiers... that's an approach that creates wrong results.


    I still agree that it's often the way the game is played, because it's the easiest way.
     
  11. Canas
    Skar-Veteran

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yea, but you'd need both positive and negative modifiers to keep the mechanic. A +1 to saves invalidates "re-roll 1's". To be honest for the purpose of "re-roll rolls of X" counting natural rolls does seem somewhat logical in that aspect. For re-roll failed/succesfull rolls it'd be weird to count the natural ones htough.
     

Share This Page