1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Spell lores on reinforcements/summons

Discussion in 'Seraphon Discussion' started by Canas, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What's the official stance on reinforcements/summons having acces or not to spell lores (and similarly prayers and whatnot) for their respective faction? Especially stuff like our starpriest, who'se special spell is fairly niche, and also can easily be summoned multiple off thus running into issues with the rule of one, would suffer heavily if they can't bring a spell from a spell lore. Whereas if they can bring the spell they'd make for some fairly amazing summon fodder due to the vast strategic flexibility this gives.

    I vaguely remember there being a rule stating you wouldn't get acces to the spelllore for summoned stuff but I can't for the live of me remember if that's correct or where I picked this up. But 1) that is lame and 2) for quite a lot of wizards it's relativly problematic to not have them especially if you have a summon heavy army like ours.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    33
    See below.
     

    Attached Files:

    Imrahil, Canas, Ecozh and 1 other person like this.
  3. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    O that's a pleasant surprise, thought it was the opposite. That make the spell lore a hell of a lot nicer for us.
     
  4. Nart
    Kroxigor

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63
    The main downside is that summoned unit will be able to cast something only the next turn. Starpriest costs 12 CCP, while Slann can just shift it own spell, if needed. But there can be situations, when it comes handy.
     
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes Received:
    14,402
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The Slann can't cast the other spell in the same round either, changing the spell happens at the end of the hero phase.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. Nart
    Kroxigor

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yes, but by casting the spell slann sacrifices only 3 CCP, while starpriest will cost 12. I don't mean that this is useless, but more often I would prefere other units, like 3 rippers or 20 skinks.
     
    Aginor and Skained like this.
  7. Skained
    Skink

    Skained New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    3
    in my opinion, the spell lore it's a good option to starpriest, but with slann i prefer summon, you can in turn 1(full combo) invoke a starpriest and in 2nd turn cast magic but I do not know.
     
  8. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I keep forgetting that summoning is at the end of the movement phase completly ruining the value of summoning supportive focussed units like wizards...
     
  9. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes Received:
    14,402
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah I think they specifically did that to prevent magic and movement. It would make summoning too strong maybe.
     
  10. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Question: can I choose 2 Starpriests to have the horde-killer spell and let both of them use it the same turn?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  11. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes Received:
    14,402
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Negative.
    The rule of one about spells is still in effect as far as we know, and so is the rule about choosing one spell from the spell lore per army.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  12. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    33
    :/ there goes my 6 Starpriest list out the Window.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  13. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Imho summoning in the hero phase really shouldn't be overpowered (assuming movement is blocked). Especially not if what you summon is something like a starpriest who can't do anything besides magic. Now you just end up making the summoning of these kinda units very weak in comparison to just summoning a powerfull combatant.

    Stupid rules :(

    Also, how is the one spell from the spell lore going to interact with summoned units? Does your seventh summon just not get a spell anymore? That's just weird...
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  14. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes Received:
    14,402
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Actually that could happen even earlier.
    If you start your game with a few wizards you will run out of spells earlier. Granted, when do you have more than three or four wizards on the table? But still.. meh.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  15. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    A tzeentch army could viably reach it. 2-3 pink horrors and a 3-4 heroes and you're there.
     
    LizardWizard and Aginor like this.
  16. Asamu
    Chameleon Skink

    Asamu Active Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You can still give it a spell. You just can't cast the same spell multiple times. There's nothing preventing multiple wizards from having the same lore spell.
     
  17. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    4,132
    Trophy Points:
    113
    well @Aginor just said the opposite so which is it.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  18. Audvin
    Saurus

    Audvin Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    33
    But the point almost vanishes when you can’t cast the same twice or more in the same turn. :/
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  19. Asamu
    Chameleon Skink

    Asamu Active Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Every wizard in your army can roll or choose a spell from the list. The rules only limit casting of spells to 1 wizard per turn. Tzeentch armies with 7+ wizards regularly take the same spell multiple times in case one wizard dies.
     
    LizardWizard and Canas like this.
  20. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,008
    Likes Received:
    14,402
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ok I might have mixed it up with artefacts.... I'll check my book in a moment...

    Edit: yep, @Asamu is right. I looked up the LoN book (which has spell lore) and there is no such rule.
    Sorry for the confusion, my bad!
     
    LizardWizard, Asamu and Canas like this.

Share This Page