1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Summoned Chameleon Skinks and their Ambush Ability

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by TheCrux, Oct 19, 2018.

  1. TheCrux
    Saurus

    TheCrux Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi all. If I spend 12 conjouration points to summon a unit of 5 chameleon skinks in round one, does their chameleon ambush ability trigger straight away?

    So, can I bring them in at the end of my movement phase on turn one, but not set them up on the battlefield straight away, then drop them wherever i like in 2 turn movement? Or is that ability only valid for the set up phase before the match starts?
     
    Stevie754 likes this.
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    14,324
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just re-read their rules and that's how I interpret it as well.
    I don't see why you shouldn't be able to summon them directly into hiding and then let them appear in the next turn.
     
    TheCrux likes this.
  3. TheCrux
    Saurus

    TheCrux Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah I don't see anything that contradicts it.
     
  4. WarbossLincoln
    Skink

    WarbossLincoln New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I think the rules would allow it how they're worded.

    Summoning: Summoned units must be set up whollywithin 12"of a friendly SLANN or a friendly SAURUS ASTROLITH BEARER, and more than 9" from any enemy units.

    Chameleon Ambush: Instead of setting up this unit on the battlefield, *do stuff*

    Since Summoning sets up units on the battlefield you should be able to use Chameleon Ambush since it happens instead of the set up.

    RAW it should work, RAI I dunno.
     
    TheCrux likes this.
  5. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,201
    Likes Received:
    8,471
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, by RAW you definitely can.
     
    TheCrux likes this.
  6. TheCrux
    Saurus

    TheCrux Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks guys.
     
  7. IggyStarhost
    Kroxigor

    IggyStarhost Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Would you be able to summon chameleon skinks, put it in ambush. And appear anywhere on the field in the same turn? Or does the “end of movement phase” negate that with the summon?
     
  8. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    14,324
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Indeed it does, so yeah that wouldn't work.
    "At the end of the movement phase" basically means "after the movement phase but before the shooting phase starts".
     
  9. Seraphage
    Stegadon

    Seraphage Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Unfortunately it does not. "At the end of.." means that nothing else comes after it. This happens only after everything else is finished and thus ends the round. Was a good idea still !
     

Share This Page