1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The April Poetry Contest has opened for voting! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Teleport Astrolith Bearer

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Hu3pfka3s3, Sep 16, 2017.

  1. Hu3pfka3s3
    Jungle Swarm

    Hu3pfka3s3 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So you can't teleport the Sarus Astrolith Bearer and then plant his banner, nor you can't plant and then teleport him... am i right?
     
    Captaniser likes this.
  2. LordRibbit
    Chameleon Skink

    LordRibbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Counts as movement so afraid not!
     
  3. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    IMO yes, you CAN teleport the the Astrolith Bearer and then plant the banner.
    The teleport of Lords of Space and Time activates in the Hero Phase, so you teleport the Bearer. Unless you don't roll a 6 ", it counts as its move in its next movement phase
    in the same hero phase the ScarVet plants the Astrolith... the limitation is that he cannot move in the following movement phase.

    The Bearer doesn't move in the movement phase: it has been moved in the hero phase, a thing that "counts as move", to avoid further movements
     
    Koriialstraz, Furnus and Joshmunga like this.
  4. LordRibbit
    Chameleon Skink

    LordRibbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    63
    We'll have to agree to disagree on this one I think! lol
     
  5. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, by fluff it makes sense. When you plant the banner you cannot move, and you are planting it after the teleport.
    The teleport count as move, so it would negate abilities as the one of the Irondrakes, that can shoot twice if they didn't move in the previous phase... but you are planting the astrolith before the movement phase.
     
    Seraphage likes this.
  6. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'd also say it works. Planting the banner prevents him from moving in that round starting at that exact moment.
    Normally that means he cannot move at all because planting the banner happens in the phase before he can decide to move.
    In this case the movement happens before he can decide to put plant his banner, so he is moved, plants his banner, and regardless of the teleport maybe allowing him to move later, he cannot do it because he planted his banner.
     
    Xasto, Ecozh, Seraphage and 2 others like this.
  7. Tokek
    Saurus

    Tokek Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Pretty sure it works. The Astrolith Bearer cannot move in the movement phase after teleporting (usually) and also cannot move after planting the banner, so doubly unable to move. Which is just fine. May as well give that model the Prism as it is definitely not moving in the movement phase anyway.
     
  8. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah the prism is perfect for support units like him.
     
  9. LordRibbit
    Chameleon Skink

    LordRibbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Just re-read the rules and I'd agree with you as long as you teleport before planting it!
     
    Seraphage and Killer Angel like this.
  10. Koriialstraz
    Skink

    Koriialstraz Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I, too, agree with that. And I think that it's a good way to put your astrolith where it could be used perfectly.
     
  11. Vextol
    Skink

    Vextol Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I know this thread has been quiet for a while, but, I wanted to chime in. I've been researching a lot about 'movement' recently and I have to say I disagree with the idea that the astrolith bearer must teleport first then plant. I don't think the statement "counts as its move in the movement phase" means the model moved. I have an example.

    Everyone agrees that you can summon and then teleport a unit correct? I've seen it done a zillion times. Well, if "Counts as its move in the movement phase" is synonymous with "Moving in the movement phase" then this would be an illegal maneuver because the summoned unit cannot move in the movement phase.

    I strongly believe that "cannot move in the movement phase", "counts as its move in the movement phase", "This is their move for that movement phase" all mean the same thing: The unit cannot move in the movement phase. Just my two cents.
     
  12. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, yes, but it doesn't matter much does it? Except if you want to cast a spell with a wizard standing next to the AB and then teleport the AB somewhere, and THEN have his buff available there?
    Regardless of rules as written allowing it or not I would certainly feel silly from a fluff perspective at the least.
     
  13. Vextol
    Skink

    Vextol Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The astrolith bearer's range is infinite in regards to spell casting, so "fluff" remains in tact regardless.

    What matters is the interpretation of the rules on the whole. If units that teleport count as being moved in the movement phase (which I think is not the same as counts as its move in the movement phase) it has enormous overall impact on the game, especially seraphon.

    I'm extrapolating that if planting an astrolith bearer and then teleporting it is not allowed, then summoning and teleporting must also not be allowed. I recognize the wording is slightly different, but the concept holds the same.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
  14. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The movement of the teleport happens before the Astrith Bearer plants the banner, so he is moved, then plants his banner. And then he won't move in the movement phase.

    It's basically the exact thing that happens with Stegadon. You teleport it, the Alpha shinx move the stegadon 1d6, then in the movement phase the steggy will not move.

    The teleport happens in the hero phase and it's a thing that counts as movement, so you won't move in the move phase, but it doesn't prevent other actions during the hero phase.
     
  15. Vextol
    Skink

    Vextol Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I’m probably in the wrong thread...

    I understand what people are saying about the astrolith bearer. This is not the point I’m trying to make at all. I’m saying that by making the ruling that teleporting counts as movement, you are throwing the baby out with the bath water.

    If teleporting counts as movement in the movement phase, then you cannot summon a unit then teleport it.

    If you summon a unit, it is not allowed to move in the movement phase. Taking an action, therefore, that counts as movement in the movement phase is the exact same thing as moving it in the movement phase.

    So...back to what I've been saying. If that the above is not true, which no-one here (including me) seems to think based off the many double teleport, summon teleport, dracothian tail strategy threads, then the ordering of the astrolith bearer doesn't matter because it has the exact same connotation as summoning then teleporting.

    It all comes down to what is 'movement'. If everyone here says that by teleporting a unit, you are effectively moving it in the movement phase, then we need to abandon all summon/teleport strategies.
     
    Aginor and Crowsfoot like this.
  16. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,041
    Likes Received:
    8,515
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I totally get your point.
     
  17. Aginor
    Skar-Veteran

    Aginor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    4,714
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think I get what you mean but I'd say that treating those things equally would go a bit too far.
    I see it this way: teleporting counts as moving as far as abilities are concerned that happen in later phases and rely on a unit not having been moved. An example would be Saurus Guard who get bonus damage if they have not moved.
    It does however not strictly count as a move so it doesn't check if that unit has been moved before for some reason. It is not happening in the movement phase so the restriction from summoning which prevents units from moving in their movement phase does not apply to teleporting, in the same way as the restriction by summoning would not apply to the Stegadon's Alpha move.
     
    Vextol likes this.
  18. Vextol
    Skink

    Vextol Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    18
    :D
    I hear you, and that may very well be. However if that is the case and that is what GW wants, I will classify this as a ‘rules fail’ because that is so over complicated to accomplish a very simple task.

    I think you would have a really hard time convincing someone who used an ability that “counts as your move in the movement phase” that while the unit has “moved” it hasn’t moved in the movement phase o_O

    That’s how I got where I am, saying that what it all is is bad terminology meaning “you can’t move in the movement phase”. I know I could very well be wrong, but I hate mid game rule arguments (which is why I’m doing this-my group is in mid discussion on this same issue) so I like to side with the ruling that makes everything easiest.

    It would be better if the rules said something like “cannot move using standard movement and counts as having moved in the movement phase”. I know...too wordy, but crystal clear :D

    It’s muddied a bit further all throughout the game. I know we are talking about seraphon here, but this issue is pervasive throughout. Kharadrons, khorne, ogors, SE, death...they all have problems based on this exact issue. Seraphon is the MOST problematic because of their teleportation, but it’s a big enough deal that GW really needs to address it. Maybe in a year...
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
    Crowsfoot and Aginor like this.
  19. Killer Angel
    Skar-Veteran

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would classify this as a minor issue, if we compare it to the mess that is "dealing with flying units"... :p
     
    Crowsfoot and Aginor like this.
  20. Vextol
    Skink

    Vextol Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It’s definitely a “minor” issue, but a pervasive one.

    I don’t know the flying mess...
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.

Share This Page