1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Teleport Questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Stygimoloch, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. Stygimoloch
    Skink

    Stygimoloch Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Hey all,

    Using the Lords of Space and Time Ability to teleport a unit, I have a couple questions. When one has the great rememberer trait, you can use the ability twice. Can you 1) Target the same unit twice? For example teleport a unit out from behind your lines, then teleport it back? and if so, 2) if the first teleportation attempt fails, can you try it again with the second one? Example you try to teleport an astrolith bearer, but the attempt fails, so you cant move or charge. Can you try again to teleport, because it isn't moving or charging.

    This scenario came up in a game today, and neither my opponent or I could find anything on this. To be fair, we were under time constraints. Any help would be appreciated!
    Thank you!

    Styg
     
  2. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,010
    Likes Received:
    14,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There is no definitive FAQ about it but I tend to say yes it works.
    It is risky though, you have to take into account that teleporting that unit back might not work and then it is sitting there and can get killed easily.
     
  3. Koriialstraz
    Chameleon Skink

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I'll take the opportunity to ask. If you teleport a unit twice, if the first try is a fail, and the second try is a big success (5,6), can you move it during the movement phase ? Or not because of the first try ?
     
  4. Stygimoloch
    Skink

    Stygimoloch Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I has that happen today. I went ahead and didn't move it because of the first roll. That being said, I didn't need to anyways, but it would be nice to know
     
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,010
    Likes Received:
    14,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My take on it is based on fluff:
    The first try ended with contemplation (the 1-2 result is called like that).
    But then the second one was a shift through space AND time (the 5-6 result has temporal in its name).

    So that means: they are finished contemplating the cosmos because the second use of the ability shifted them to another time afterwards.
    So now they can move.

    From a gameplay perspective:
    The second try overwrites whatever the first try was. I see no good reason why it shouldn't.

    I'd still like a FAQ on that but I interpret it this way.
     
    Nart likes this.
  6. Koriialstraz
    Chameleon Skink

    Koriialstraz Active Member

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    43
    That was my interpretation too, and my opponent agree with me.

    And I'm glad that I have the same thought about it than others.
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  7. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The way i use it, is less easy on us.
    If you roll a 1-2 on the first try, you can try to teleport it again… but even with a roll a 5-6 on the second one, the unit still cannot move.

    Here's my reasoning:
    Almost everything in this game stacks, abilities' effects and so on.
    Here you have two effects on the same unit: one tells that you cannot move, and one that you can move after the teleport.
    I read the stacking of effects as "you could move after the teleport, but the first effect forbids it".

    Waiting for a FAQ, this is the interpretation that leads to the minimum amount of discussions with your opponent.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
  8. Nart
    Kroxigor

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63
    However, aren't these effects opposite so they cannot stack, and one, which applied later, should override the first one?

    On an interesting note - if you roll 1 and then 5, you still cannot charge, because Temporal Displacement only allows to move.
     
  9. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,010
    Likes Received:
    14,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Haha, yeah that's weird. :D
     
  10. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,216
    Likes Received:
    8,503
    Trophy Points:
    113
    well, opposite effects do stack. A +1 to hit and a -1 to hit, for example.
     
  11. Nart
    Kroxigor

    Nart Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63
    However, when we deal with numbers, it is easy to understand, how it works. You get +1 and then -1. They stack and results in average 0, so to-hit roll is not affected. However, there is no average whan you can or cannot do a thing. It is either 0 or 1.

    I wonder if other battletomes has similar effects, so we can get some reference.
     
  12. Blitzkriyg
    Saurus

    Blitzkriyg Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    33
    I play it the second roll overwrites the first and I haven't had an opponent disagree yet
     

Share This Page