1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS Teleporting out of combat

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by IggyStarhost, Apr 8, 2018.

  1. IggyStarhost
    Chameleon Skink

    IggyStarhost Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    43
    So yesterday at the tournament I wanted to teleport my bastiladon out of combat and shoot. Tho my opponent warned me, if I teleported out of combat it counted as retreating and I wouldnt be able to shoot.

    So other people joined and read the teleport rules and said since it says: counts as its movement on a 2-5, that would be retreating. I didnt had the time to argue or look the rules up. But pretty sure thats not the case, since thats how you cycle charges with knights.

    Does anyone know if this counts as retreating and to which rules/faq’s I cant point to prove it? Much thanks!
     
  2. Hu3pfka3s3
    Skink

    Hu3pfka3s3 New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It doesn't count as reatreat, because you remove the unit from the Battlefield and then set it up again. Thats what is stated in the Rules- FaQ.


    Q: If an ability or spell allows a model to be set up elsewhere
    on the battlefield, and the model is originally within 3” of an
    enemy, does it count as having retreated?
    A: No, unless specifically stated otherwise.

    Your opponent just messed around.
     
    Canas, Ecozh, Crowsfoot and 1 other person like this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    9,583
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep he was wrong and you were right.
    People read too much into "counts as".
     
    Canas and Crowsfoot like this.
  4. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    5,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The problem is that there is a FAQ that specifies that abilities that "count as move" are like a move in the move phase (for example, dwarfs irondrakes that pop with the ancestral pick in the hero phase, cannot shoot twice because they are considered to have moved in the move phase)

    If peoples remember that FAQ, than they may extend that concept in good faith.
    That's why we need to know our stuff and the related FAQ, to have anwers for these cases.
     
    Ecozh, Crowsfoot and Koriialstraz like this.
  5. IggyStarhost
    Chameleon Skink

    IggyStarhost Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Thanks! I now have the faq on speeddial :p
     

Share This Page