1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog TheCrux: Advice for a first timer

Discussion in 'Personal Paint Logs' started by TheCrux, Apr 13, 2018.

1. TheCrux
    Saurus

TheCrux Member

Hi all, I'm pretty new to this whole game and looking to start painting my models soon. I don't own any paints yet, but i have a Medium base, small layer, medium shade and medium dry brush.

I really love this colour scheme for the skinks and wanted to carry it over to my warriors and knights etc. Does anyone know what colours I should buy to get this look below?

Skink Colours.png

I undertstand the straight lines on the shields may be a bit beyond me at the moment, But I can come up with a different design!

Any tips would be great. I've been watching lots of youtube videos on how to paint, but I'm struggling to find how to get the colours I want.

generatorss, Warden and Crowsfoot like this.
  2. Crowsfoot
    Slann

Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

First of get the GW painting app it has loads of models in it with the colours explained.

The Skinks above are a very standard colour scheme for GW and the main colours are as follows, I will explain the colours then after I will give you a process to paint the model.

Light blue

Base Temple guard green
    Wash Coelia greenshade
    Layer Temple guard green
    Layer Lothern blue

Dark blue

Base
    Kantor blue + Lahmian medium (this is too thin the paint water will do)

Gold

Base
    Brass scorpion
    Wash Agrax earthshade
    Layer Runefang steel

Ok so that's the 3 main colours covered on that model, now being a beginner you won't want to tackle Layers yet so we will use Drybrushing

Step 1

Prime the model black, use a automotive spray primer or paint it black with a brush you want a nice even coat, thin coats are best so you may need 2 coats with a brush to get a consistent coverage.

Step 2