1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips for a "Southlands-themed" liz army

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by RaptoR_GzuS, Nov 2, 2009.

1. RaptoR_GzuS
    Jungle Swarm

RaptoR_GzuS New Member

Hello all.

Started on lizardmen and I`m thinking of a different color scheme than the army book suggests.
    Initially I thought about an "oceanic" vibe army,progressive layers of dark green,lighter green to light blue/teal with maybe dark blue stripes.As I am a beginner in painting I`ve scratched this idea for something easier to paint but cool nonetheless.

All models will have the typical chaos black undercoat.

Started painting Saurus (and cold one cavalry saurus) like this:

-Catachan Green on most of their skin,dark angel green on the clusters of scales
    -Dessert Yellow on their underbelly
    -burnished gold/some bronze details on the jewels,weapons,etc (spears retain a black heads,highlighted with very fine lines of dark purple)
    -yellow eyes
    -shields:a light brown base with a lighter yellow-ish color on the big scales
    -i may add white stripes on their bodies,and white skulls painted on their heads (like an African tribal warrior thing)
    -everything washed with Devlan Mud

Skinks will be a mix of bright yellow,orange and some red or brownish stripes.I have removed the head fin on the plastic models (don`t like it for some reason)

Kroxigors will be painted as close to a crocodile as possible,but on the lighter side.Or dark purple,not sure yet.10 foot tall,massive club-wielding Barney the Dinosaur FTW.

Temple Guard will be very dark in color,almost black.The saurus` white warpaint stripes will make a comeback.My Slann will be a Kroak model.Saw a cool idea on youtube: adding the engine of the gods circle around and over his palanquin,so he`s in the middle.Might try it.