1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Typical time to paint your army?

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by PartyFoul, Jul 29, 2016.

1. PartyFoul
    Skink

PartyFoul Member

Hello, I am working through my first army and am wrestling with the tension between wanting to play soon versus having a well-painted army. Any advice on how to set my expectations around the time investment?

How long has it typically taken you to field 1,500 - 2,000 points?

Bowser likes this.
  2. Warden
    Slann

Warden Tenth Spawning

Years... :banghead:

But that's because I keep being distracted. I got my first character and two core units painted really fast when I started (saurus scar-veteran on foot and two blocks of saurus infantry) and after that I would assemble, play with them, and eventually paint. My brother and I started playing around the same time and learning as we went, so we played tons of small games until we slowly grew our armies. Took about a year I think before we finally had 1000+, that was after maybe doing a unit a month? Kinda fits-and-spurts.

If you sat down and busted out some table-top standard minis, you could probably have a decent amount done over a long weekend or over the span of a month.

Bowser and PartyFoul like this.
  3. tom ndege
    Skar-Veteran

tom ndege Well-Known Member

I restarted the hobby about one year ago (more than a year, but not yet one and a half, to be honest ;) ) And did not manage to finish a single unit since then. But I'm looking forward to finish the first units of saurus warriors and guards... My problem is, that I don't have too much room for doing units all at once... And when I find a new paint scheme it can happen that I redo a whole unit... :p

4. spess
    Cold One

spess Well-Known Member