1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blog What color is the dark side?

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by Realjuan, Sep 15, 2016.

1. Realjuan
    Cold One

Realjuan Well-Known Member

Hi Everyone,
    I need your help!

I got a AoS starter set, and decided to paint the Chaos Warriors. I have always liked the colorful armies more, i.e. Bretonnian, Marienburg-Empire, Lizardmen, and I tend to like the "Good" guys more. This is my first time painting a more opaque, dark and evil army so I would like to know if you have any suggestion, inspiration pictures, videos or something to share.

I would like to stay close to "realistic" painting (skin will not be orange with white dots) and if I could create a fluff around it even better. I enjoy painting so time, and resources are not an issue. I normally paint every and each single model like it was a character.

I am a 100% noob to the Chaos fluff, so be nice to me.

Questions:
    1) Why do chaos army have the same armor color? Religion? Wouldn't chaos mean a diversity of colors? How could I fluff this in?

2) Could there be a way to turn the fluff and make them have a nicer motive? Like vampire, sure they drink your blood but because they HAVE to :p

I encourage you to post pictures, videos or other media to help me out.

Looking forward,
    Juan

Warden and Bowser like this.
  2. n810
    Slann

n810 First Spawning

Each of the chaos gods have their own color scheme.
    [​IMG]

3. Bowser
    Slann

Bowser Third Spawning

So then you have the Khorne bllodbound mortals I assume. The normal colours for Khorne are a matte red, but that doesn't mean you can't change that up. Could go a classic car style candy apple red. Or paint them however you like and give a reason for it. Maybe the armour is all cobbled from fallen Stormcast which is why you went with blue and gold.