8th Ed. Chameleon Skinks Aquatic Help Please!

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by JesseS, Oct 11, 2011.

1. JesseS
    Skink

JesseS New Member

I'm new to WHFB and cannot for the life of me find the answer to this in either the Lizardmen book or the big rule book.

On pg 41 under Aquatic it says that models with both the Aquatic and Scout special rules count as being deployed 'out-of-sight' if they are 2" into a water terrain feature.

How does this play out? The scouts rules in the big rule book just say they get deployed last 12" away from the enemy, it doesn't explain how the mechanics work for this. Can enemy units just not shoot at them since they are 'out-of-sight' and therefore we pretend line-of-sight can't be drawn on them? Can they still be charged?

Any clarification would be wonderful!

2. Old Mossy
    Bastiladon

Old Mossy Active Member

Yep, it means you can't trace line of sight. So, no shooting, no charges, no magic that requires line of sight (I guess that means direct damage spells can still be cast against them, though). You still need to be 12 inches away from the nearest enemy model.

3. strewart
    OldBlood

strewart Well-Known Member

I don't think thats right... Again this is a blurry line because the LM book was written in 7th ed and we are now in 8th. The reason it says those models count as 'out of sight' is because in 7th ed, you were not allowed to scout if you were within LoS of any opponent. You could be as close as you want, but had to be out of sight. Now in 8th, you can be in plain sight but must be 12" away.

So where it says they count as out of sight in water, that refers to being able to deploy under 7th ed scouting rules. In 8th ed, it means nothing. Check the FAQ for which lines on that page have been deleted or errata'ed.

4. JesseS
    Skink

JesseS New Member

The errata off the website (version 1.4 seems to be the newest) only says;

Page 41 – Special Rule – Aquatic