8th Ed. Focus Of Mystery

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by twistedmagpie, Aug 14, 2013.

1. twistedmagpie
    Saurus

twistedmagpie Member

I'm new to Lizardmen and in a number of posted army lists I have noticed that the Lore of Mystery has been given to Mage Priests as well as being stated that they shall use other lores. Does this mean I can have all high magic spells & roll for spells in other schools?

2. Dyvim Tvar
    Razordon

Dyvim Tvar New Member

No.

The Loremaster rule in the Rulebook says that wizard with the ability "knows all the spells from his chosen Lore".

Since the Focus of Mystery only gives the ability for High Magic, the Slann must choose High Magic as his Lore in order to get the benefit of Loremaster.

3. Rettile
    Ripperdactil

Rettile Active Member

i'm not sure. We need a FAQ
    if you read the mazdamundi rule it says that mazda is loremaster in the lore where he picks his spells, but the focus of mastery only says "loremaster in high magic"

4. Wizgamer
    Cold One

Wizgamer New Member

But Mazda is specifically given the rule that he can choose any of the lores and be loremaster of that lore, either high magic or one of the BRB lores

5. Dyvim Tvar
    Razordon

Dyvim Tvar New Member

Exactly.

And again, the Loremaster rule says the character knows all the spells in is chosen Lore. It goes on to say that if a Lore is named in parentheses, that's the Lore that the character knows all the spells in.

There are only two reasonable ways of reading this:

1) If you have Loremaster (High Magic), the only Lore you can choose is High Magic.

2) If you have Loremaster (High Magic), you can choose another Lore if you want, but in that case the only spells you will know are 4 from that Lore.

I don't think there is any reasonable reading that would allow spells from 2 Lores.

6. twistedmagpie
    Saurus

twistedmagpie Member