1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello! Completely new! Looking for advice on the hobby.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Gaur'oth, Aug 8, 2021.

1. Gaur'oth
    Jungle Swarm

Gaur'oth New Member

First off, hi! I am brand new to the hobby and I have been wondering for about a week where to start with anything. I was introduced to Warhammer in general by little exposure to 40K over the years from my friends (space marines are cool but never my cup of tea) and only became aware of Fantasy through the Vermintide and the Total War games. Long story short I passively played the dwarfs in those games with friends until I decided to try something new and I saw there were dinosaur people. HOLY **** I LOVE THESE GUYS! Anyway, I recently had a desire to collect the minis and to have a hobby to share with my wife (she likes painting and dinosaurs as well so it's a win win).

Are there any bits of etiquette I should be aware of when it comes to building an army? Is naming your characters acceptable? Are model mashes frowned upon? Are placeholders okay? I kinda want to play at a local hobby shop but I'm afraid to be a total cringefest in front of veterans.

I hope this didn't come off as the insane ramblings of a mad man, I honestly want to put my best foot forward with this and not anger the Old Ones in the process. :eek:
    Thanks for your time, I'm Gaur'oth and this has been my Ted Talk.

2. Aginor
    Slann

Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

Welcome to Lustria!

You should know your Age of Sigmar (old Warhammer Fantasy Battles isn't played at most stores anymore) rules decently (from the General's Handbook) and have the Seraphon Battletome so you have your warscrolls ready.
    Also if you are playing at a GW store your models should mostly consist of GW parts.