8th Ed. Lore of Metal Versus Zombies?

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Scalenex, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Scalenex
    Slann

Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

So I’m playing a map campaign. My army is set, my opponent’s army is set but my Slann’s lore can be selected before the battle. The odds are quite good that the enemies I face will be lots of zombies backed by Necromancers with Blood Knights providing the main muscle.

I’m thinking of trying Metal to fry the Blood Knights, but I want to make sure Metal will help versus zombies. I have never used Metal before and it appeals to me for novelty as well.

Transmuation of Lead says the target suffers a -1 penalty to WS, BS, and armor saves until the start of the caster’s next magic phase. Iceshard Blizzard and Pha’s Protection says -1 to Hit, Transmutation of Lead says WS. I’m pretty sure that it penalizes the trait and not the rolls. Since zombies are normally WS 1, the spell and the spell does not specify “minimum 1” like Melkoth’s Miasma does then the zombies will be reduced to WS 0, and thus be struck automatically and unable to fight back at all versus my Sauri and Skinks. Am I correct in this assessment?

Final Transmutation afflicts the target and nearby targets with Stupidity. Undead are immune to Psychology but if I understand Immune to Psychology right, this does not mean immune to Stupidity (otherwise Stupidity wouldn’t come with Immune to Psychology right?). Am I correct in my assessment?

If I’m right, this ought to go pretty smoothly. If I’m wrong, I probably better switch lores.

2. david l
    Chameleon Skink

david l New Member

Correct in both cases.

Although are you sure there isn't an errata putting a minimum on the -1 Ws?

3. n810
    Slann

n810 First Spawning

I'm not sure [WS0] means auto hits, since a roll of a [1] is allways a miss.

Check the rules for failing a fear test in combat, I believe it makes a unit [WS0]
    It should be similar to that.

4. Scalenex
    Slann