8th Ed. mass Razordons and ranks

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by warlorddrax, Sep 5, 2013.

1. warlorddrax
    Skink

warlorddrax New Member

if i were to run a unit of 8 Razordons...

2 ranks of 4 razordons with skink handlers lining up behind them.

A) do all razordons get to fire as normal? even the ones in the second rank?

B) do i get rank bonuses for the skinks and razordons?

formation is as follows:
    R = Razordon
    S = Skink

R R R R
    R R R R
    ssssssss
    ssssssss
    ssssssss

in theory, i could cast the + D3 spell and murder entire units with this in one round of shooting.
    it would also be a terrifying formation for the enemy to charge because of all of the stand and shoot.

now, another question (i'm new to 8th...)

my opponent declares all charges. then moves models right?
    so i can pick what i get to stand and shoot against?
    would i be able to add a Sarus Hero BSB with the armor piercing banner to the unit?

i'm sure that there are more... but that is all i have for now.

thanks!!!

2. Lizardmatt
    Troglodon

Lizardmatt New Member

All units can shoot in 2 ranks. You use the line of sight from the front model to determine line of sight from the 2nd rank.

You must choose to stand and fire. Opponents declare charges one at a time, and you must declare a reaction before your opponent declares his next charge. This means, you will ALWAYS stand and fire against the first opponent that can charge you. Since you can only stand and fire once, you're free to choose any reaction you want for the 2nd charge (such as flee).

You cannot attach characters to Salamanders or Razordon (it's in their rules).

If you do get armor piercing on the unit (via the lore of metal enchanted blade spell), bad news; it only affects close combat attacks. Armor piercing states that models with the armor piercing rule have armor piercing close combat attacks. Weapon with the armor piercing rule have armor piercing with any attack made with that weapon.