1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS new realms of battle rules

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Jason839, Feb 11, 2021.

  1. Jason839
    Bastiladon

    Jason839 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Trophy Points:
    93
    So in the GHB it mentions if you want to be from a realm you take the artifact from the new profiles in the GHB. It does not mention realm spells and command traits. Do you still get to give the spell to a wizard and the command trait to your general?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    9,428
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The old Realm Command Abilities and Realm Spell list from Malign Sorcerery and the Corebook are no longer matchplay legal for the current GHB2020. Replace them with the new realmscape features, spells, ect.
     
    Jason839 likes this.
  3. Jason839
    Bastiladon

    Jason839 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ok cool Ty.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Jason839
    Bastiladon

    Jason839 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Follow up question, can you be both a constellation and from a realm? Id like to be koatls claw but also take the rageblade from the realm of fire.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yes you can, as long as you have the ability to take more than one artifact as the constellations have a mandatory artifact to be taken as your first one.
     
    Jason839 and LizardWizard like this.
  6. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    9,428
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I mean, you can always be from a particular realm, but you may or may not have room to slot the artefact.
     
    Jason839 likes this.
  7. Jason839
    Bastiladon

    Jason839 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks everyone. Last time I used realm rules was our old book so I have never bothered mixing and matching realms and constellations before. Just wanted to be sure.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  8. NecridHydra
    Temple Guard

    NecridHydra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hey, two questions as I don't want to open a thread for it.

    I find particulary useful Ghur's CA with Thunder Lizard, how does it work, do I say I'm from Ghur and I can use it whenever I need? Also, do I need to take a Realm's artifact before a generic artifact?

    For example, I'm from TL and my first artifact is the Fusil. I buy a batallion and I can put a second artifact, does it need to be the Realm?
     
  9. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Trophy Points:
    113
    answering in reverse order, the CA has a specific time built into the rule "end of the Hero phase" so that's when it must be done.

    as for the artifact, it is an option, not a mandate.
     
    NecridHydra likes this.
  10. NecridHydra
    Temple Guard

    NecridHydra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My bad while phrasing my post. When I said "when I needed" I meant when it was useful for me (you won't be using it if your Chief doesn't have an allocated wound). Once I say I'm from a Realm, I can use it's CA as it was from a Constellation, right? I remember someone said you could only use the CA and spell if you were playing in that Realm.
     
    ILKAIN likes this.
  11. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Trophy Points:
    113
    that portion is correct. when you are battling in the realm, the command ability, Spell and Landscape feature are all active for that realm no matter what realm you are from... those things represent the type of magic that saturates the realm and cannot leave the realm. the artifact from that realm can be taken to any other realm.
     
    NecridHydra likes this.

Share This Page