1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8th Ed. Ripperdactyls in a <1500 pt army.

Discussion in 'Lizardmen & Saurian Ancients Tactics' started by alex_brown92, Aug 26, 2015.

1. alex_brown92
    Skink

alex_brown92 New Member

Hi everyone.

I have recently purchased some ripperdactyls for my lizardmen army. My army is tiny because I refuse to buy to many models without painting them (I have made that mistake before and ended up with a 2500pt orcs and goblins army with shed loads of night goblins that never got painted - I am a VERY slow painter and usually very busy).

My models so far are as follows

Scar vet on cold one
    Scar vet/Oldblood on foot
    Skink priest x 2
    Skink chief with BSB
    Tetto'eko

Skink skirmishers x 10
    Skink cohort (if using tetto)/ skirmishers x 10
    Chameleons x 5
    Saurus Warriors x 24
    stegadon (built with giant bow).

Can anyone offer any suggestions for how I might use a unit of 3 ripperdactyls with a small army likely with the models above? (obviously cant include all those heroes - its just what I have). My main opponent is a dwarf player and he will usually take at least 2 war machines. I am worried that they will get shot down very quickly. Thanks in advance :D

2. Scalenex
    Slann

Scalenex Keeper of the Indexes Staff Member

I recommend you take a Heavens priest in every army. Iceshard blizzard his war machines. Especially Organ Guns which will tear up Rippers easier than the others. Iceshard Blizzard will also soften the blow from a large unit of crossbowmen or thunderers (assuming he fields them at 1500 points)

If you take Tetto'eko and Vanguard your Saurus Warriors right in your enemy's face, he'll have bigger concerns than your Rippers. And Tet will give you full access to the Lore of Heavens. Really Tetto'eko is so good it's almost broken.