1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Start Collecting Skinks - done!

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by iamtib, Sep 7, 2021.

1. iamtib
    Skink

iamtib Active Member

Obviously when you want to start collecting an army... you pick a "start collecting" box right ?! The Skink one caught my eye because I wanted to get some of them for a Warcry warband and it had a lot of things : skinks, terradon, the option to get a terradon chief, some sort of leader.

So here I was with the huge box in my hands at the start of my adventure in Lustria !

[​IMG]

Now some context: I am a hobbyist before being a gamer. That means that I always paint all the contents of the boxes I have before buying new ones. Or at least the VAST majority of it. So i have a very limited "pile of shame" :) And yep this one is no exception. Paint everything! (minus 2 skinks because you can only field 10)

A few weeks (read months) later, I am very proud to show you the start of my Seraphon army

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The models are beautiful. It was a pleasure to paint, truly. My favourite of the bunch are the terradon riders. I have the impression that they're not really played in the lists that I see around but I really wanted to paint them nevertheless and give them the paintjob they deserved :

Because this box was also built with Warcry in mind, I also wanted to have some option and the Terradon Chief is a good fighter in this game so I painted two riders and with a intricate system of pins, I can swamp between the Alpha and the Chief.

Building the chief, I learned about the awesome story of Tiktaq'to, Eye in the Heavens, the Master of Skies, hero of Hexoatl, wielder of the Blade of Ancient Skies (love all the titles!) which this model was supposed to be in the old world.

Hope you guys like them!