1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The winners of the Golden Serpent 2016 competition has been announced! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have added a section to discuss Kings of War and the new race Salamanders that is currently in beta. Feel free to discuss anything about Kings of War in these forums. Click here to check it out and post!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. AOS Campaign Warband competition is here! Aid the community by Giving us your ideas! For more information, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS A question about Charging & what happens in the next movement phase.

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Canas, Nov 26, 2016.

  1. Canas
    Saurus

    Canas Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have a question about charing.

    I was playing through a game & ended up in a situation where I could charge with a unit of 20 models. Now If I directly charged into my opponent only about 5 would actually be in a position where they could attack, but if I charged slightly of to the side I could position them in such a way that my fairly large unit would be in between 2 fairly small units (a unit of 3 retributors and one of 5 liberators) allowing me to get much more soldiers involved in the fighting.

    Now my question is; is this legal? Or are you suppsed to only be in range of the unit you declared you were charging?

    I also have another question. After the battle phase for that round was over and casualties had been removed from the field two or three models in that unit ended up sorta standing around out of range of the fight. What are they allowed to do in the next movement & charging phase? Are they allowed to encircle the enemy they are fighting (provided it's within moving range for the models), are they supposed to charge in order to attempt to encircle? Or do they just sort of awkwardly stand there until someone retreats or one of the units gets destroyed?
     
    Bowser likes this.
  2. Bowser
    Skink Priest

    Bowser Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    3,395
    Trophy Points:
    113
    For the charging you have as much movement as the dice gives you, if that means you can swing it so that you can pile into multiple units then that is perfectly legal.

    For the next one if the entire unit is retreating then you must try to get them within one inch of another model in the unit. if they can't they can't move. If you are staying in combat you can't move but they can pile in again moving 3" to the nearest enemy unit.
     
    m0gstar likes this.
  3. Canas
    Saurus

    Canas Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mm, wasn't sure given that you end up going into the control zone of multiple units, though I guessed as much.

    Ah ok, I forgot about the piling in, that does give some leeway to reform ranks and reply to some changes after a fight.
     
    m0gstar and Bowser like this.
  4. Phoedinn
    Kroxigor

    Phoedinn Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Another little detail from what you said, you don't actually have to declare the unit you are charging into. You simply declare a charge and see what units your roll allows you to reach :)
     
    m0gstar and Bowser like this.
  5. Canas
    Saurus

    Canas Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That sounds slightly weird, going for a charge without knowing whereto. But yea, makes sense.
     

Share This Page