1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Ardfist battalion(new battletome)

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Imrahil, Oct 9, 2019 at 7:30 PM.

  1. Imrahil
    Terradon

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    843
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Hi All,

    I am not sure if this tread is in the correct part of the forum, but could not quite find a better subforum.

    As I got the new Orruk Warclans Battletome I was going over the battalion that I liked the most in the old Battletome: Ardfist. And I noticed some changes.
    I'd like to know if I am reading it all right.

    The old Ironjawz Battletome stated the following:
    2019-10-09_2001.png
    As it clearly says: "During the Hero phase" and "The replacement unit is identical to the unit that was destroyed."
    Also bear in mind that the minimum unit size of Orruk Ardboyz is 10 models.

    The new Battletome says:
    IMG_20191009_195109.jpg

    (1) "You can use this command ability..." so this is still in the hero phase, am I right?
    (2) If you succeed the roll you can set up an unit of 10 models. regardless the size of the old unit(?)
    Also the minimum unit size is changed to 5 models(although to count as Battleline it still needs 10 models)

    (3) SO... If I for instance would use 3-5 units of 5 Ardboyz alongside a Warchanter and 3 units of Gore-gruntas (Battleline in an Ironjawz army) I would be oke Battleline wise.
    Now when a unit of 5 Ardboyz is destroyed I might probably replace it by a unit of 10 Ardboyz for free?

    (4) As it now also states "is added to this battalion"... When that unit is destroyed I can try to replace it again?

    (5) Finally: If one unit is destroyed, say in turn, and in turn 2 I try to replace it but fail. Can I still try to replace it in the upcoming turns? Or would it be 1 try for every unit?

    A lot of questions :oops:
    Hopefully some of you might be able to help and clarify:angelic:

    Gr, Imrahil

    PS: I don't know if I am breaking any forum-rules by posting a piece of the new Battletome? Please let me know if I did.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You use the command ability when the unit is destroyed. So during whichever phase the unit is destroyed in. However, there is no cap on the number of times the command ability can be used in the current rules. So if one unit dies and you have 8 cp you can spend all 8 on attempts to bring in Ardboyz. Imagine this with Aetherquartz Brooch!

    You are correct. Any newly added Ardboyz are part of the battalion and their destruction can be used to activate the command ability provide all other criteria is met.
     
    Workschmock and Imrahil like this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,695
    Likes Received:
    15,801
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No, I don't think so. Any time, right after a unit gets destroyed.

    Yes, regardless. Replacements are always 10 Ardboyz.

    Btw: the way I read it a unit of five is still Battleline if you play Ironjawz allegiance. Only in a Big Waagh army you need 10 boys units to be Battleline.

    Yes.

    Yes.

    You can try again.
    In fact I'd argue that you can try again in one round, if you have enough command points to do so.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  4. Imrahil
    Terradon

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    843
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks for the replies, guys.

    I am not so sure about that... it says " Battleline in Ironjawz or Big Waaagh! army if unit has 10 or more models" otherwise it would have to be "Battleline in Ironjawz army and Big Waaagh! army if unit has 10 or more models"

    If I am correct: command points are as follows. Before battle 1 to start +1 for each battalion in your army. Then each turn you gain 1.

    That looks like a great deal of fun xD

    Gr, Imrahil
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019 at 10:25 AM
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,695
    Likes Received:
    15,801
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Warscroll builder seems to agree with my interpretation but you could still be right.

    My buddy already has the German edition of the Orruk book IIRC, I'll ask him if the wording is more clear there.
     
    LizardWizard and Imrahil like this.
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    9,883
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No, you can't.
    You can use the ability "when the unit is destroyed", so you must use it in that precise moment.
    If you have more than 1 cp you can try again for that unit, but that must be done immediately, you cannot wait for the next turn.
     
    LizardWizard, Imrahil and Aginor like this.
  7. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,695
    Likes Received:
    15,801
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh, yeah you are right, I misread that part of the question. He can try again, but he has to do so immediately, not in a subsequent turn.
     
  8. ILKAIN
    Troglodon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    880
    Trophy Points:
    93
    looks like you would be limited to having 5 units total in the battalion, so using multiple CP to bring back more than one unit of 10 would still be limited to a max of 5 units because of the battalion cap. as said above under the new rules there is no inherent limitation to using this command ability multiple times so long as its done when the ability triggers, and you don't move from that point forward (ie make a move, attack with another unit, etc)
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  9. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Battalion Cap only exist when building the list. There is no cap to amount of key-wording that can be imparted.

    Similar to how you are only allowed 4 artillery, 4 behemoths, & 6 heroes. However, you can still summoning more of those unit while your starting units are at cap on the field.
     
    Canas and Imrahil like this.
  10. ILKAIN
    Troglodon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    880
    Trophy Points:
    93
    so effectively you could be THAT GUY... build 5 units of 5, and when 1 dies burn all your cp for 50% chance on return for 10 model units IN THE BATTALION.... 50% chance at twice the models, average even replacement per CP.... theres literally no downside to that. and with AQ brooch.....THAT GUY STRIKES AGAIN lol
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  11. ILKAIN
    Troglodon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    880
    Trophy Points:
    93
    also not that I don't believe you, I totally do, but do you have that in a rule/FAQ/errata somewhere? cuz that's gonna get resistance even not being that guy... say only doing it twice to return 2 units of 10 when you lose a unit of 5.
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  12. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,416
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just ask them where it says the unit caps are used for any purpose other than list building :D

    And the above summon examples that already break unit limitations.

    I expect this to get a FAQ and/or Errata change.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  13. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,695
    Likes Received:
    15,801
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah they will probably limit it to restore one unit per destroyed unit.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  14. ILKAIN
    Troglodon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    880
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Yeah I would too
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  15. ILKAIN
    Troglodon

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    880
    Trophy Points:
    93
    or one try... SCE has something similar with the hammers and they only get one try on a 5+
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  16. Imrahil
    Terradon

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    843
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I would be that guy ;)

    Gr, Imrahil
     
    Killer Angel and LizardWizard like this.

Share This Page