Re: A compilation of ways to fight cannons/minimize risk? YOU DON'T LOSS YOUR MARCH MOVE IF YOU PIVOT A MONSTER AND IT DOES SAVE LIVES!!!!!!!! Sorry bit passionate about this now as i use the turning sideways tactic all the time and thing it is awesome and i have needed to argue the rules now 6 times in the past 3 days that monsters can pivot and march, so in reality you gain a extra 1 inch free (as its a long base if you pit it at the edge of your deployment zone then pivot on the center the front inch of your base is now acualy 13" away from the table edge not 12"). so there is absolutely no logical reason why not to do it unless you plan on charging the first turn. Second thing why its good vs cannons, its not the overshooting, its the UNDERshooting that saves you. A good cannonir will fire exacly 10" from the back of your base. meaning that IF he roles 10" he still hits you, i.e. imposible to overshoot you. BUT if he roles a 2 or a 4 or a 6 or a 8 he does not hit you and the ball needs to role which means a missfire and it stops. i know this is not needed but just to defend this tactic even more becouse as i said im a proper "fanboy" of it. Cannon roles of the artillery dice "cannon aims 10" in front of the back of your base" 2 - 4 4 - 2 6 - Missfire These 3 roles WOULD hit a normal placment but would NOT hit a sideways placment. it does not seem like alot. but now lets think for a moment the fallowing would hit nether one. 2 - 2 2 - missfire 4 - missfire proper missfire So out of 12 posibilitys 4 would hit nether one, that leaves 8 viable sets that would hit the monster. but now you consider that placeing it sideways would be 3 less viable options. final result forward facing placement 8/12 possibilitys to be hit by cannon Sideways placement 5/12 posbilibites That is a VERY significant advantage. AND you gain 1" free movement and the only thing it costs you is the ability to charge on the first turn. p.s. i think i did my math wrong on how many possibility there actually are or maybe i did it right im not sure, but i think you get my argument and the core point is. "there is no logical reason why not to do it unless you want to charge on the first turn in which case you wont have line of sight as you are facing sideways."