1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Kroak's Celestial Deliverance Questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Boomer, Mar 28, 2020.

  1. Boomer
    Skink

    Boomer Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ok,

    First I'm SO glad this forum is available to us Lizzy Lovers (They will always be "Lizzys" to me). So thanks to you all.

    Secondly, when you look at the new Tomes magic - it's down right cruel. Linking Kroak up with his spells, adding a ES Vortex and Cogs and an Astrolith, he gets SIX spells to cast, you get 3+ to casting (4+ if you have another Slann cast Celestial Equilibrium), 2+ saves with a 4+ Invulnerable, +12" casting ranges, re-rolls for casting attempts and on and on...its just an insane magic beat stick and with Dracos Tail, you stand a 50/50 shot of bringing the Slann back at full health for more magic beatstickness. (This does come to 600 points however) CRAZY!!!

    Celestial Deliverance can be attempted to be cast by Kroak 3 times at 7, 8, and 9 values as an exception to the rule you can only attempt to cast the same spell once. Ok great. (it's really evil with the above buffs making the attempt values a 4, 5, and 6 (or even less with Celestial Equilibrium cast).

    The unbinding rules only allow a spell that is cast to be unbound ONCE by an enemy wizard (2D6, w/in 30", visibility not required).

    So for example, Kroak casts the spell on his first attempt. And lets say the enemy wizard manages to unbind it. Bummer. Kroak just grunts and casts the spell a second time.

    Ok my question: 1. Does the enemy wizard get to attempt to unbind it again or no? (Or even the third time)?

    2. Is there any restriction on the order that you attempt to cast the spell - meaning can you attempt it once, then attempt a totally different spell, then come back to cast it a 2nd and 3rd time? For example you cast Arcane Bolt in between the Celestial Deliverance to finish a unit off and save the remaining 2 Celestial Deliverance to massacre another unit (no wasted D3 Mortal Wounds)


    So I'm guessing the enemy doesnt get 3 unbinding attempts because the rule is clear...you can only attempt to unbind a spell ONCE. Period. Kroak's rules make it very clear Celestial Deliverance is an exception to the "attempt to cast only once" rule as it goes on in great length on how it can be cast 3 times. There is NO discussion on an enemy wizard unbinding these 3 attempts other than the general unbinding rule.

    what do you think?

    Boomer
     
    LizardWizard and Erta Wanderer like this.
  2. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,470
    Likes Received:
    5,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    question 1 yes they can try all three times just not more then once on a single spell your casting 3 spells even if it has the same name so 3 unbinds
    question 2. nope you can cast them in any order you want go nuts
     
    Canas and LizardWizard like this.
  3. Boomer
    Skink

    Boomer Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks! In spite of the delicious notion that they cant, and my attempt at arguing it, your logic makes more sense in that individually the enemy can attempt to to unbind each attempt as each one is SEPARATE. Plus in the interest of fairness (not that any Skaven would care about "fairness") it would seem total ass-crushing not to allow them a chance to unbind each...oh well - I tried in the name of the Old Ones nevertheless...;)

    HOWEVER - in the same token - does each unbind attempt still have to be done by a DIFFERENT qualified enemy Wizard?

    Booms
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  4. Erta Wanderer
    Skar-Veteran

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,470
    Likes Received:
    5,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    no if they have multiple unbinds like our slann do they can try to unbind more then one of our spells. this often leads to mighty wizard duels
     
    Canas likes this.
  5. Boomer
    Skink

    Boomer Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ugh...got it...Pg.8 of core rules "The spells a Wizard knows, and the number of spells it can attempt OR UNBIND in a hero phase, are detailed...in the warscroll."

    Never really noticed that - in essence, unbinding is like casting a spell, except in reverse...including the quantity he can do.

    thanks again...

    Booms
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  6. Grotpunter
    Kroxigor

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    458
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Keep in mind Kroak is a named hero, so you cant give him command traits or artefacts.
     

Share This Page