1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Oldblood on Carnosaur Command ability

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Casey, Feb 12, 2019.

  1. Casey
    Jungle Swarm

    Casey New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I was wondering if there was any changes from what is stated in the book for Ancient Warlord command ability

    It states whenever a saurus hero within 20" attack in combat phase, pick one of its weapons and +2 attack until end of phase.

    I was wondering if it actually goes for all seraphon heros within 20" or just one hero within 20"(my brother a thinks its overpowered nd just wanto get a clearification)
     
  2. Sedraxis
    Skink

    Sedraxis New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It is for all heroes within 20", and it is potentially overpowered :p
     
    Ecozh, Imrahil and Casey like this.
  3. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,752
    Likes Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, it works for all heroes... but it's not overpowered, far from it.
    It's a good buff, but there are craziest things in the game ATM.

    Our strongest tools actually are LoSaT and summoning... those are our main keys to victory, while the synergies granted by our heroes are not game breaking.
     
  4. Hij4cker
    Skink

    Hij4cker New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    3
    And can he use that on his mount? I mean it's forelimbs.
     
  5. Putzfrau
    Stegadon

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Generall the Jaws are where it's at.
     
  6. Lizerd
    Carnasaur

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    2,681
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, the command ability can be used for the carnosaur. If attacking infantry hordes then go for the jaws, for monsters use it on the claws as the pinned down can become brutal.
     
    Schwaaah likes this.
  7. Putzfrau
    Stegadon

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    63

    Mathmatically, isn't it still better to use them on the Jaws?
     
  8. Lizerd
    Carnasaur

    Lizerd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    2,681
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It’s pretty dependent. Against infantry then hands down its the jaws. Again, with monsters you have an excellent probability of scoring pinned down with 4 claw attacks. This means that approximately 2 should deal damage. With this you can use a far more accurate bite with an almost guaranteed hit, multiple times.
     
  9. Blitzkriyg
    Saurus

    Blitzkriyg Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Jaws is definitely the best. I run kroak so having 6 or 7 cp by turn 3 to blow is great. Charge in the carno with a sunblood with his exploding 6s backed up by an Astro and its fun times had by all (your opponent excluded)
     
  10. Vexcor
    Temple Guard

    Vexcor Active Member

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    the ability says: pick one of the heros weapons.
    is it really legal to give the claws or jaws +2 attacks?
    is there no difference between the hero and its mount?
     
    Crowsfoot likes this.
  11. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If an ability can't be used on the mount it usually says does not effect the mount.
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  12. Blitzkriyg
    Saurus

    Blitzkriyg Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Command traits are not conferred to the generals mount, however command abilities are fine unless the ability says otherwise
     
  13. Imrahil
    Terradon

    Imrahil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    968
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Good to know!

    I just want to know if I'm correct:
    If this effects my Scar-Veteran on Cold One, I can choose the Celestial War-pick witch gives me 5 attacks. When I roll a 4 after the attacks i get another 5 attacks because it states: "...until the end of the phase." And after that when I roll a 6 again?

    Gr, Imrahil
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  14. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,752
    Likes Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes. :)
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  15. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,923
    Likes Received:
    16,431
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep. :)
     
    Imrahil likes this.
  16. MackiMac
    Chameleon Skink

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Does it stack?
     
  17. Canas
    OldBlood

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,039
    Likes Received:
    5,294
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yup, the command ability stacks.
     
    MackiMac likes this.

Share This Page