1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Question about Pile In

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by General Grivious, May 12, 2019.

  1. General Grivious
    Skink

    General Grivious Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi all,
    Well my question is about the following situation:
    I have my Bastiladon and a hero close to him (3inches), a unit of 20 Ard Boys make a succeful charge against the Bastiladon (my hero still more that 3 inches of Ardboys because they did dont make more inches in the charge) - So in the end of the charge we can say, the bastiladon is in combat but not the Hero....
    Now Combat phase: the player Iron Jaws see that pile in on the bastiladon he can finish with 1 Ardboy to 1 inche of the Hero,so putting hin in combat.
    Is that possible?????

    Thx :D
     
  2. Chico
    Skink

    Chico New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    3
    As far as I know, then yes.
    It's perfectly acceptable to draw another unit into combat (move within 3 inches of it), using pile-ins.
    The other way around too, leaving combat by moving more than 3 inches away from a unit piling in onto another unit.

    As long as all rules for pile-ins are followed (eg. only towards closest enemy model).

    I can't find any specific rule description to support this statement though.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    9,650
    Likes Received:
    13,510
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes that's possible.
    I do it all the time, for example to force archers to shoot a chaff unit instead of a real target.

    I also play against Ironjawz a lot and I can say that techniques like that are something an Ironjawz player MUST do. Otherwise they almost never stand a chance against mid-level or high-level armies.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    8,265
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep, that's one of the more important AoS tactic... as one of the keys to victory is placement and pile-in lets you play around those few but vital inches.
     
    Aginor likes this.
  5. ILKAIN
    Ripperdactil

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    63
    another trick can be to remove units during wound allocation to get charge effects again... manipulating placement of models is a key difference between your casual LGS player and higher tier play
     
  6. General Grivious
    Skink

    General Grivious Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thx for the answear all!!

    hmmm but i suposed that models should be more than 3 inches at the end of turns... seems impossible to me or i'm not understanding explictions xD
    Maybe an exemple? :v
     
  7. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    8,265
    Trophy Points:
    113

    I can give you (a similar) one.

    a week ago i played Nighthaunts, against Nurgle, which was fielding a unit of 15 putrid... i feared them, and they were placed in line, ready to smash my defensive position (holding a vital obj).
    i used my Black Coach to charge the margin of the unit, so that after the pile-it, only 3 of those brutes could fight me: basically i did it so that nasty unit would have been stuck in melee with me, without the possibility to immediately kill my coach, losing precious time.

    GIven my charge, I attacked first, killing 2 of them.

    If my opponent would have been wiser, he would have remove as casualties the ones that were within 3" from my coach, thus freeing the unit for his next turn.
     

Share This Page