1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Skarbrand question

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Lord Skal'terakk, Sep 26, 2019.

  1. Lord Skal'terakk
    Cold One

    Lord Skal'terakk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    392
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I have a question for those knowledgeable about official tournaments rules about Skarbrand.
    In his warscroll it says that if he goes one turn without fighting he becomes Incandescent, but I don't quite understand if he goes Incandescent for one turn or until the end of the battle. I don't find anyone talking about it online and I thought asking the Lustrian Gods might be a good idea. If all it takes is putting soldiers around him for one turn as he advances towards an objective for him to be full HP Incandescent the whole game, isn't it ridiculously strong? I'm a noob, so I wouldn't know, please tell me your opinions on this!
     
  2. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    4,898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    "Skarbrand’s Rage:
    Skarbrand’s infamous fury cannot be quenched. Attacking him only serves to stoke his anger, and his wrath rises to an inferno whenever violence is denied to him.

    From the second battle round, if this model is on the battlefield and did not attack in at least one of the combat phases of the previous battle round, when you look up a value on this model’s damage table the model is treated as having suffered 13 wounds."

    It last for the remainder of the battle. He is treated as having suffered 13 wounds, so it isn't a condition that refreshes or falls off.
     
    Lord Skal'terakk likes this.
  3. Lord Skal'terakk
    Cold One

    Lord Skal'terakk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    392
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thank you, Wizard! You're amazing
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. ILKAIN
    Carnasaur

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    1,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would read that as it lasts only until he does attack... not the rest of the battle. it does have a condition... "if he hasn't attacked in at least one of the previous battle rounds" thus his triggering rules are

    1: check battle round, if round = 2+ then
    2: did skarbrand attack yet in any previous round?
    if no: skarbrand damage table is set to 13
    if yes: skarbrand damage table is treated as normal
     
    Lord Skal'terakk likes this.
  5. Random Lizard
    Saurus

    Random Lizard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    53
    If he attacks during round 3, the fact that he didn't fight during round 1 or 2 is still valid therefore it lasts for the remainder of the battle.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. ILKAIN
    Carnasaur

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    1,761
    Trophy Points:
    113
    by your own logic you agree with me, you just somehow ended up at a different conclusion lol. if he attacks in round 4 and he did attack in round 3 it would no longer be active. "at least one of the previous" on round 4 he would have attacked in at least one previous round, thus the trigger wouldn't be met.
     
  7. Random Lizard
    Saurus

    Random Lizard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    53
    The requirement is: did NOT attack for at least ONE of the two combat phases of the previous battle round.

    Exemple: If the Khorne player moves Skarbrand on his turn and is not in range to fight but gets charged on the opponent turn, he will be incandescent the following turn as he didn't fight in at least one combat phase

    In any case the dude has movement 8 and can be kited easily
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  8. LizardWizard
    Skar-Veteran

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    4,898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    An no fly :(
     
  9. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,336
    Likes Received:
    11,923
    Trophy Points:
    113
    the requirement is " did not attack in at least one of the combat phases of the previous battle round"

    Round 2:
    khorne's turn: skarbrand attacks and kills one unit
    Opponent turn: move away from skarbrand

    Round 3:
    Khorne's turn: Skarbrand fails the charge, so doesn't fight
    Opponent's turn: something charges Skarbrand. Skarbrand is not incandescent because he fought in one of the combat phases of the previous round
     
    ILKAIN likes this.
  10. Random Lizard
    Saurus

    Random Lizard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    53
    The way the ability is worded, it could be interpreted as any of the 2 options we stated above.

    I'd rather play a Bloodthirster of insensate rage to avoid the confusion and getting a much stronger unit (i managed to kill 1400 pts in a single turn with it once) for 110 points cheaper
     

Share This Page