1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Skirmish Questions

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Wilhelm Stürmer, Jun 18, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Wilhelm Stürmer
    Razordon

    Wilhelm Stürmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    93
    So I played my first Skirmish game yesterday and came away with a couple questions:

    1) The Jan edition of White Dwarf has the line: "You can only include each warscroll once in your warband." That indicates to me that I can only take one Knight, Warrior, Skink, etc. in a Skirmish list. Is that how you interpret it as well?

    2) Skirmish battle reports, both video and written, seem to indicate that units are kept at 1 model, but again wording in the Jan edition of White Dwarf states: "You may ignore the minimum unit size requirements on a warscroll - all count as having a minimum unit size of 1 model." Does this mean a unit in Skirmish could still have multiple models in a unit, you simply pay per model?
     
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    2,668
    Trophy Points:
    113
    1) Correct.

    2)All unit sizes are 1 model. I recommend including a Terradon and Saurus Guard in any Seraphon Skirmish.
     
  3. Wilhelm Stürmer
    Razordon

    Wilhelm Stürmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks for the feedback. For question 2, what you say makes sense, BUT the article specifically uses an example of taking two Orruk Brutes instead of 5, their standard minimum unit size. Additionally, in the Warscroll builder for Skirmish, you can add multiple models into a single unit.

    One more question: Are the Artefacts in Skirmish limited to the listed in White Dwarf, or are you able to use Realm Artefacts? Again, the Warscroll Builder shows you can use Realm Artefacts.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    2,668
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sounds like they are letting you group units now. If they give an example that contradicts RAW then follow RAI. Artifacts and Command Traits are limited to the Skirish rules artifacts and the ones added in whitedrawf.
     
  5. Wilhelm Stürmer
    Razordon

    Wilhelm Stürmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    93
    For reference, here's the wording for my first two questions.
    Screen Shot 2019-06-18 at 11.19.54 AM.png
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. LizardWizard
    Skink Chief

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    2,668
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Apparently you can now group units in Skirmish. It use to be that any "command" units from a warscroll provided an 8" inch aura.
     
  7. Wilhelm Stürmer
    Razordon

    Wilhelm Stürmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Well, it appears you CAN have a unit with multiple models, but there may be no point to it:
    Screen Shot 2019-06-18 at 11.48.35 AM.png

    So basically, you can have multiple, same models, but each of the models are in the same unit and operate independently.
     
    Canas likes this.
  8. Canas
    Skink Priest

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    4,115
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The point of the limiation of 1 of each warscroll, but with potentially multiple models is that you can take say 14 saurus warriors (as 1 unit can have up to 40 warriors) but can only field 1 carnosaur ever as a 2nd carnosaur would be taking a second copy of that warscroll.
     
    Killer Angel likes this.
  9. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    8,481
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yep, @Canas is right.

    the only thing i don't remember, is if you can go over the minimum size of the warscroll (10 warriors)
     
  10. Wilhelm Stürmer
    Razordon

    Wilhelm Stürmer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I'm not reading anything that states you can't, you'd just be limited by the army reknown limit.
     

Share This Page