1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Sunclaw Battalion with Carnosaur

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by JscoobertDoobert, Mar 18, 2020.

  1. JscoobertDoobert
    Jungle Swarm

    JscoobertDoobert New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Can I run an oldblood on carnosaur as part of the Sunclaw battalion? In the rules it says you can ignore sub headers if the units title is there so I would assume so ?
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  2. LizardWizard
    Skink Priest

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,858
    Likes Received:
    8,395
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sadly, no. It is unbolded. This means it isn't keyword Oldblood but warscroll Oldblood. However, the Scar-Veteran for Firelance can be either the ScV on Cold One or ScV on Carnosaur.
     
    Canas, Garvlok, Imrahil and 1 other person like this.
  3. JscoobertDoobert
    Jungle Swarm

    JscoobertDoobert New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Aww dang. What do they mean in the rules when they say you can ignore sub headers for battalions in the rule book?
     
    LizardWizard, Garvlok and Imrahil like this.
  4. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2,918
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just asked this question in the other thread about this lol....
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. DaBush
    Skink

    DaBush Active Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Absolutely you can, it could possibly be an oversight, however. But per battalion rules in the CORE RULES it states "The organisation section of a battalion lists the titles or keywords for the units it can or must include. If an entry is the title of a unit, any unit with that title can be used (you can ignore sub headers under the title unless they are included in the entry for the unit).

    The battalion states an Saurus Oldblood or Saurus Sunblood. The warscroll for a Saurus Oldblood on Carosaur is a "Saurus Oldblood" for a title with a sub header of "On Carnosaur". They used a keyword Scar-Vet for the scar-vet but the keyword was the wrong thing to use, both should have been titles.
     

    Attached Files:

    Blitzkriyg and Garvlok like this.
  6. Garvlok
    Skink

    Garvlok Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I think thats absolutely spot on. Its the reason why the battalion Free Spirits for sylvaneth is useable.

    You need a Spirit of Durthu and 3 units of Kurnoth Hunters (Not Bolded)

    however there is no warscroll that is just Kurnoth Hunters. They have 3 warscrolls with their weapons under as subheaders.

    So it looks like you can get Saurus Oldblood on carnosaur up to -3 rend if you include the Artifact blade of realities on his jaws and he is in the battalion for sunclaw templehost!
     
  7. JscoobertDoobert
    Jungle Swarm

    JscoobertDoobert New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I don’t think you can put artifacts on the mounts weapons
     
    Garvlok likes this.
  8. Garvlok
    Skink

    Garvlok Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I heard about that but i cant find where thats stated
     
  9. Garvlok
    Skink

    Garvlok Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Nvm found it! Oh well. Looks like he will have to settle for a -2 rend on the jaws

    Screenshot_20200329-122157_Drive.jpg
     

Share This Page