1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Don't have enough monsters? Or just want to show off your painting skills. Why not try entering the Monster Mash! - Click here for more info.
    Dismiss Notice

AoS TELEPORT LORD KROAK

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by dinoSTARZ, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    4,778
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I see it used at nauseam by tzeentch players, that summon a couple of them to block passages and spam MW, but that's also a problem with MW.

    The basic thing is that i hate the concept of a stupid spell with no drawback that lets you mess with everything that relies on CC, buffs your casting and remains active without any effort.
     
  2. Canas
    Skink Chief

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    2,059
    Trophy Points:
    113
    MW is an issue regardless, the balewind doesn't really change that by much.

    To be honest, the only real issue is the utter negation of CC which is rather a problem when armies can easily get into a situation where they have no significan range to speak off. Personally I'd say something along the lines of what I suggested seems best. CC is still possible, but quite costly. Taking away a spellslot seems far too harsh a punishment. At that point it's just there to block passages, which just isn't very good.

    Admittadly that does depend on how crowded your average battlefield is. If it's litered with buildings and what not the blocking power it provides rapidly becomes extremely good. In that case it'd be worth looking into something like that.. But seeing as that's not the norm I'd say it'd not be a good idea.
     
  3. Dakash
    Skink

    Dakash Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Just a quick question. Can u use balewind vortex to hold an objetive? I mean, almost every battleplan requires to stay 3" near to the objetive... and balewind is taller, so u couldnt hold the objetive with the mage on top
     
  4. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    8,625
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am not sure how tournaments do it, but the way we play it here you cannot claim objectives with a wizard on a BWV because of what you wrote.
     
  5. Canas
    Skink Chief

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    2,059
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Wouldn't the vortex itself technicly be one of your models as well? Depending on how the "hold the objective" sentence is phrased it might still work (and so would nurgles tree's in that case)
     
  6. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    4,778
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Nope, it's a piece of terrain. Otherwise sylvaneth would hold objectives just by summoning woods...
     
  7. Canas
    Skink Chief

    Canas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    2,059
    Trophy Points:
    113
    meh, shame would be interesting as a tactic (provided holding an objective involves at least outnumbering your opponent, if it's just "be there" it'd just be lame)
     
  8. Christopher
    Kroxigor

    Christopher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    432
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Another thing to consider. Many missions involving holding objectives state that the objective is still controlled by the most recent army to have models on it even if they move away (so long as opposing units don’t move onto or within range of the objective, obviously). In this case, Lord Kroak (or whatever wizard summons it), will have to have been on the objective, perhaps controlling it depending on the exact wording of the mission, before the summoning was cast. The wizard then moves “away” (f straight up), but is nonetheless the most recently controlling unit. Right?
     
  9. Killer Angel
    Skink Priest

    Killer Angel Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    4,778
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep, but it depends on the wording.
    Not all objectives remain in your control if you move away, and for the ones that remain yours it's still required to have the model near the objective at the end of the move phase before you can claim the points
     
    Christopher likes this.
  10. Christopher
    Kroxigor

    Christopher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    432
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeah, I just reviewed the victory conditions of the six battleplans included in the General’s Handbook 2017, and careful reading shows that my supposedly clever little plan wouldn’t work for any of them. I think it would work for many of the Objective Card victory conditions in the Open War deck, though. But no, it won’t work in the majority of cases, looks like.
     

Share This Page