1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Arcane Vassal

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by xoid, Mar 28, 2020.

  1. xoid
    Kroxigor

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    93
    When you cast a spell using the arcane vassal feature where is the distance for unbinding measured from, the Slann or the model the spell is being channeled through?
     
    LizardWizard and Erta Wanderer like this.
  2. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Priest

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Trophy Points:
    113
    they need to be able to reach the slann as he is the one casting
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  3. xoid
    Kroxigor

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    93
    What I figured, thanks!
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Boomer
    Skink

    Boomer Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Arcane Vassal is for CASTING spells for Slann only, not unbinding them, which is not the same thing. It really doesn't matter because all Slann have Masters of Order which allows for unbinding to be done from any distance "...this model can attempt to unbind enemy spells that are cast anywhere on the battlefield (and dispelling Endless Spells as well) Pg. 78-79. Arcane Vassal does not apply to unbinding.

    Cheers, Boomer
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    9,338
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Pretty sure he meant for enemy wizards attempting to unbinds Slann's spell which are being measured via arcane vassal.
     
    Canas and Erta Wanderer like this.
  6. Boomer
    Skink

    Boomer Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Duh...you're right...so much for my blathering ons...

    Booms:eek:
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  7. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What about endless spells? Do you place them from the caster or the Vassal?
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  8. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Priest

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Trophy Points:
    113
    from the vesal it works like spell portal
     
  9. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You can't cast endless spells through the vassal.
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  10. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Priest

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Trophy Points:
    113
    good to know
     
    Putzfrau likes this.
  11. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For me it's 1-1 neither of them gave any proof :p
     
    Putzfrau likes this.
  12. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Priest

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Trophy Points:
    113
    putz is right look up the maligned sorcery FaQ and the old DOK one it is addressed there i had just forgotten
     
    Putzfrau likes this.
  13. Carnikang
    Carnasaur

    Carnikang Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    3,375
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Anyone else remember when they were originally talking about our Book and specifically mentioned that you could throw an Endless Spell through a Skink from the Slaan, and then in the following FAQ, stated you couldn't?

    Fun times.
     
    ILKAIN, Putzfrau and Erta Wanderer like this.
  14. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Trophy Points:
    113

    sorry, thats my bad i should have posted. It's in the malign sorcery faq. Basically says you can't do anything to increase the range of endless spells.

    Spell Portal only works by being able to literally move the endless spell through the spell portal, so if you have something like purple sun it can pop out the other side and be within an inch of something. It doesnt actually change the range that it can be cast at.
     
  15. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you please let me know what happens when two endless spells run to reach other?
    For example Pendulum hits another, do both of them disappear?
     
  16. Putzfrau
    Skink Chief

    Putzfrau Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    2,045
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They do not both disappear. They essentially can't "run into one another." Endless spells have fly, and you can't "land" a model on top of another model. So you'll either stop before it or have to have the movement to completely clear it.

    You could have a situation where two endless spells are essentially right next to each other, but that situation is just that. Two endless spells next to each other.

    Is there a specific ruling or interaction that is making you think they would?
     
    Erta Wanderer likes this.
  17. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, just my curiosity. I bought a malign sorcery box and I'm going through the rules etc. Unfortunately, none of my friends used endless spells before, so knowing the rules and how to use them - I'm just left alone.
     
    Carnikang and Putzfrau like this.
  18. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm freshly after a game where I used an endless spell. I was playing only the pendulum. Sorry if it is spam. I just wanna play fair against my friends.

    1. When I cast an endless spell, and it is unbound. I cast it once more with another wizard. Does the enemy wizard (next one which not unbounded it before) unbinds it again or cannot do anything an I just need to roll the proper dice for success?

    2. After casting the spell (my turn) I moved it. Does my enemy need to move it at least minimum 1" or can he declare that it won't move at all in his movement phase. (I know he can try to dispell the spell at the start of his round).

    The endless spell (pendulum here) moves after deciding who starts the battle round but before the hero phase (opportunity to try dispelling them is after it moved or before it moved)?
     
    Carnikang likes this.
  19. Carnikang
    Carnasaur

    Carnikang Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    3,375
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I believe you can only cast each spell once a turn. Endless or not. May just be matched play games though.

    If your opponent is the one moving it, you may need to read the spell. It states that it MAY move up to it's movement, but may only move in the direction it is facing when placed.

    Yes.
     
  20. Erta Wanderer
    Skink Priest

    Erta Wanderer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    7,842
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Due to the rule of one you can only cast a endless spell once per turn.
    As for movement as long as it moves at all even if it's one tenth of a millimeter it counts
    Endless spells are dispelled in the hero phase so after it moves
     

Share This Page