1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Balewind vortex 2 rules

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by theodoris, Jul 8, 2018.

  1. theodoris
    Cold One

    theodoris Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The Balewind Vortex has 2 rules.

    the one in the new rule book,
    and the one on the site, when you go to the GW site to buy the model and can download the rules for free.

    the one on the site says no models can`t move 3" near the balewind vortex,
    but the one in the rule book says you can charge and attack the balewind vortex

    which one do i use?
    I think we need to use to rulebook rules, but this could be confusing when you go to an tournament
     
  2. MinhoAbernathy
    Saurus

    MinhoAbernathy Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I use the ones from the Malign Sorcery warscroll card which are the ones where you CAN go within 3" of it and it gives your wizard an extra spell. I'm sad for the loss of the +1 to casting though.
     
  3. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The PDF is still the old one I think. The most recent one doesn't block movement within 3" and it doesn't double the spell range anymore.
     
  4. Flo
    Kroxigor

    Flo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Exactly, new BWV is from Malign Sorcery Ruleset, the PDF warscroll is out of date and no longer used

    New rules are
    -8" more range for spells
    -1 additional spell per hero Phase (including the hero Phase where the Vortex is set up
    -+1 save for the Wizard on top
     
    theodoris and Aginor like this.
  5. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    +1 important thing: The BWV and the wizard become a single model
     
    Crowsfoot, Flo and theodoris like this.
  6. Crowsfoot
    Slann

    Crowsfoot Guardian of Paints Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    14,490
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So it can’t be dispelled by anyone apart from the caster?
     
  7. Flo
    Kroxigor

    Flo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    63
    It can be dispelled like any other endless spell
    You even need to be careful! If it gets dispelled you need to Place the caster i Think within 6" of the BWV and also more then 3" away from enemy Models, if this is impossible the caster is slain!
     
  8. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Correct. It also means that the caster becomes "bigger" so it is easier for him to be in range of something. His footprint becomes huge.
     
  9. Vexcor
    Kroxigor

    Vexcor Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    63
    let get this correct:
    a Slann can cast 3 spells a turn, casting the vortex does not count as a spell as written in his warscroll.
    SO if you get him up, you can cast and unbind 4 spells in turn 1, right?
    or get 13 summoning points
     
  10. Flo
    Kroxigor

    Flo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Casting the Vortex does count as a spell, it was the old warscroll where you didn't need a spell Slot for it

    You can cast the Vortex and 3 additional spells afterwards or generate 9 points
     
  11. Pallys
    Skink

    Pallys New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Can you move on the BwV?
    Edit: NVM I'm blind, no you can't move
     
  12. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    But you can teleport. :)
     
    Dr.Doom and Pallys like this.
  13. Pallys
    Skink

    Pallys New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Big brain moves!
     
    Dr.Doom likes this.
  14. Workschmock
    Saurus

    Workschmock Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Is there a faq or designer's commantary that supports this? Because the balewind's warscroll says "as long as the balewind vortex remains on the battlefield.." and our Lords of Space and Time rule removes a model from the battlefield to set it up sonewhere else.. I'd argue that at the moment you remove the vortex from the field, the wizard and the vortex cease to be one model, they split up. Although the wizard is not slain, what would dispell the vortex automatically.. err.. confusing..
     
    Dr.Doom likes this.
  15. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
    AFAIK it has been done in official tournaments and was ruled OK, I don't recall if there was a FAQ about it.

    But that's a good point you have there! By the pure words we could either argue either way I guess.
     
    Dr.Doom and Workschmock like this.
  16. Workschmock
    Saurus

    Workschmock Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Dr.Doom and Killer Angel like this.
  17. Aginor
    Slann

    Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,249
    Likes Received:
    20,159
    Trophy Points:
    113
  18. Ustyk
    Cold One

    Ustyk Active Member

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Can wizard on bwv can be attacked by mele ?
     
  19. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,138
    Likes Received:
    33,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes.
    Gone are the days of the old warscroll
     
  20. HelloBear
    Skink

    HelloBear Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Came for this, so if now the vortex and guy on top are counted as one model, someone in base contactcan "reach" the wizard as you aren't measuring to the base of the model on top? Just want to confirm, about to use it for the first time Wednesday.
     

Share This Page