1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Can you run duplicate battalions?

Discussion in 'Seraphon Army Lists' started by Tichi Huichi Raider, Jul 9, 2021.

  1. Tichi Huichi Raider
    Skink

    Tichi Huichi Raider Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So I have previously run a Thunder Lizards army and when i saw the battalions, I really wanted to run Linebreaker with a EoTG, Stegadon (no Chief), and Solar Engine. But with Stegas now counting as battleline, I think they cannot be run as behemoths. So I was thinking maybe I can run two warlord battalions with my Stega acting as the battleline and my EoTG running as the leader and then I'll fill out the rest as I see fit. But am I allowed to run two of the same battalion?

    Also, if yall want to weigh in, what's your opinion of Solar Engine vs Stegadon (no chief)?
     
  2. MackiMac
    Razordon

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Yes you can absolutely take two of the same battalions. Except the battalions in generals handbook, those you are only allowed to have one of each.

    In Thunderlizard I would pretty much always take atleast on Solar Engine
     
    Tichi Huichi Raider likes this.
  3. Tichi Huichi Raider
    Skink

    Tichi Huichi Raider Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thank you, now that I've looked at the General's Handbook battalions, it is fairly clear that there is no restriction on doubling Core Book battalions.

    Also since Stegas (without chiefs) are battaleline we can put them into Hunters of the Heartland battalion and those deny any monstrous rampage against them, correct?

    i definitely plan on at least one Solar Engine, but if I have a choice between a Stegadon (no chief) and a Solar Engine, should I pick the Solar Engine?
     
  4. MackiMac
    Razordon

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Yes TL stegadons can be in Hunters of the Heartland

    In my opinion the stegadon is generally better, but both is good
     
    Tichi Huichi Raider likes this.
  5. Chris Davies
    Skink

    Chris Davies New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Correct me if I'm wrong but Im pretty sure that stegadon in thunder lizard count as battleline and are still behemoths but don't count towards your limit of behemoths. So you can still use all the behemoth stuff just does not count towards the limit as they will still have the behemoth key word.
     
  6. Tichi Huichi Raider
    Skink

    Tichi Huichi Raider Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I originally thought so too but apparently not:

    Rule 25.5.1
    "25.5.1 CONDITIONAL BATTLEFIELD ROLES Sometimes, the Notes column on a Pitched Battle profile will tell you to change the battlefield role of units of that type if certain conditions are met. For example, choosing a certain model to be your general can mean the battlefield role of certain units changes to Battleline. Where this is the case, unless noted otherwise, the unit loses all of the battlefield roles in the Battlefield Role column of its Pitched Battle profile and just has the battlefield role specified in the Notes column instead."

    Stegadons get their Battleline role in the notes, so it becomes the only battlefield role they possess.
     
  7. Chris Davies
    Skink

    Chris Davies New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh right, fair enough.
    Missed that

    Thanks for the update.

    Didn't think of behemoth as a battlefield role. More of just a key word to say "this is a big monster"
     
  8. Christopher
    Terradon

    Christopher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    851
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Just to be clear, "behemoth" and "battleline" are not keywords, but battlefield roles. Even though stegadons lose the battlefield role, they still have the keyword MONSTER, and thus still enjoy the benefits of all that monstry, monstry goodness.
     
  9. Tichi Huichi Raider
    Skink

    Tichi Huichi Raider Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yeah and that's big because eventhough Stegadons are Battleline, there is no question about them getting the +2 wounds in Thunder Lizard. They get that buff and they also get to use the Monster actions in 3.0, and so on.
     

Share This Page