1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Deployment in meeting engagement

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Bartuk, Jan 9, 2020.

  1. Bartuk
    Cold One

    Bartuk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    63
    There is a meeting engagement tournament coming up in my region and in our preperation games we encountered the following problem while deploying:

    - What happens to the troops of the main body when you simply cant fit the bases into the 3 inch zone of the arrival border? Are they slain? (The board has the correct size of 45 inch, but even a max size board 0f 48 would not be enough.)

    IMG-20200108-WA0028.jpg
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. Chico
    Skink

    Chico New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    3
    We've always used the rule, that if models from a unit wont fit in a deployment zone, or in any other case of missing room when seeting up models, they are slain. I'm fairly certain, that we got that after reading some rules, but I can't remember which and where right now :/
     
  3. Chico
    Skink

    Chico New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ah here, from The Core Rules: "Sometimes there will not be enough room to set up all of the models from a unit. When this is the case, any models that cannot be set up are considered to have been slain."
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    8,984
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Pretty sure Meeting Engagements has specific additions to the rules to address this. Pg 75 of the GHB2019 address this under the section header: Overflow.

    As I read it you don't slay them. But, they cannot be placed more than 3" forwards. So basically they don't die, they have to spend movement during your phase to enter the board proper.
     
    Dreamkeeper likes this.
  5. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    16,165
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Isn't that for single models with a base so large that they are physically unable to be wholly placed within those 3"?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    8,984
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Doesn't say a unit of 1 model. So I read it on a model by model basis.
     
  7. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    16,165
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah, but the picture doesn't help in that regard, given that it's a kharadron ship.
     
  8. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    3,270
    Trophy Points:
    113
    in 2.0 AOS if GW didnt specify single model vs multi model units, then you would use the term UNIT as it is in the core rules. which means either.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  9. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    16,165
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's a good point.
     
    LizardWizard and ILKAIN like this.

Share This Page